Media Relations

Press Release:


FAU President Frank T. Brogan Appointed to NCAA Division I Board of Directors

               BOCA RATON, FL (August 14, 2007) - Florida Atlantic University President Frank T. Brogan recently was named to the board of directors for Division I of the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA).   The NCAA is a voluntary organization through which the nation's colleges and universities govern their athletics programs.

“It is truly a privilege to serve on the board for the NCAA,” said Brogan.   “I look forward to working with the other board members during what will undoubtedly be an exciting time for athletics.”

Brogan also is vice-president of the Sun Belt Conference’s Executive Committee. Because of its status as a member of the Division I-A football coalition, the Sun Belt Conference has a permanent seat on the NCAA’s 18-member Board of Directors.   In his new role on the NCAA board, Brogan will play a part in the implementation of any future NCAA legislation and guidelines for the 322 universities and colleges in Division I. Brogan’s term ends in April 2011.

Other members of the board of directors include Stephen L. Weber, chancellor of San Diego State University; Gregory Geoffroy, president of Iowa State University; James Barker, president of Clemson University; Michael F. Adams, president of University of Georgia; Nancy L. Zimpher, president of University of Cincinnati; Robert Bruininks, president of University of Minnesota, Twin Cities; Shirley Raines, president of University of Memphis; Sidney A. Ribeau, president of Bowling Green State University; Timothy White, president of University of Idaho; Edward Ray, president of Oregon State University; Bruce F. Grube, president of   Georgia Southern University; Daniel Curran, president of University of Dayton; Michael McFarland, president of College of the Holy Cross; Charles Bantz, chancellor of Indiana University-Purdue, University at Indianapolis; Anthony J. DiGiorgio, president of Winthrop University; Mordechai Rozanski, president of Rider University; Thomas Powell, president of Mount St. Mary’s University.

- FAU -

Privacy Policy | University Regulations and Policies | Emergency Information | Get Help | Contact Us

An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution
© Copyright 2016. Florida Atlantic University.
Florida Atlantic University
 Last Modified 9/7/16