Press Release:


FAU’s Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society Celebrates its 40th Anniversary

            BOCA RATON, FL (May 10, 2011) – The Florida Atlantic University chapter of the Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society recently celebrated its 40th anniversary.  Coinciding with FAU’s 50 th anniversary this year, the chapter invited FAU President Mary Jane Saunders, as well as FAU professors William McDaniel, Ph.D., and Jeffrey Morton, Ph.D., to join more than 150 students to be initiated as the Chapter’s newest members.
            Highlighting the nature of this special event, William A. Bloodworth, Jr., Ph.D., president of both the National Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi and Augusta State University, attended the ceremony and personally initiated Saunders.  Together with the chapter’s executive committee members, both Bloodworth and Saunders participated in the recognition of the initiates’ scholarly merits.  Each initiate also was presented with a certificate, pin, medallion, and a copy of the 1971 charter. Megan Tomei, a graduate student in the department of women’s studies at FAU, also addressed the new student initiates and stressed the importance of the inclusive nature of this National Honor Society.
            In 2005, under the direction of former Phi Kappa Phi chapter presidents Eric Shaw, Ph.D., professor of marketing within FAU’s College of Business; William Stronge, Ph.D., FAU professor emeritus of economics; and Ronald R. Shultz, former FAU professor of geosciences; a $10,000 endowment fund was created to support chapter scholarships. Shaw was one of the inaugural student initiates and one of the first recipients of the chapter’s graduate scholarships at FAU and also is the chapter’s current historian.
            This year, Joshua Scholl, a senior in the Charles E. Schmidt College of Science, was the recipient of the chapter’s honors convocation scholarship. Seven other new initiates each received a $1,000 scholarship to also support their graduate studies at FAU.
            For more information, contact Terry C. Mena at 561-297-3546 or


About Florida Atlantic University:

Florida Atlantic University, established in 1961, officially opened its doors in 1964 as the fifth public university in Florida. In commemoration of its origin, FAU is celebrating its 50th anniversary throughout 2011. Today, the University serves more than 28,000 undergraduate and graduate students on seven campuses and sites. FAU’s world-class teaching and research faculty serves students through 10 colleges: the Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts & Letters, the College of Business, the College for Design and Social Inquiry, the College of Education, the College of Engineering & Computer Science, the Graduate College, the Harriet L. Wilkes Honors College, the Charles E. Schmidt College of Medicine, the Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing and the Charles E. Schmidt College of Science. FAU is ranked as a High Research Activity institution by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching. For more information, visit .

Privacy Policy | University Regulations and Policies | Emergency Information | Get Help | Contact Us

An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution
© Copyright 2016. Florida Atlantic University.
Florida Atlantic University
 Last Modified 9/7/16