Media Relations

Press Release:


FAU Foundation Board Elects Michael Kaufman as Chair

            BOCA RATON, FL (May 14, 2009) - The Florida Atlantic University Foundation Board recently held its annual meeting and election of officers.   Michael Kaufman was elected as the board’s new chair, taking over from David Gury who chaired the Foundation from 2008-09. Also serving on the Foundation’s Executive Committee are Randy Justice ’73, vice chair; Bruce Allen ’71, treasurer and Cecelia James, secretary.  

            Kaufman joined the FAU Foundation Board in 2006.   For the past 20 years, he has been president of Kaufman Lynn General Contractors, one of the area’s busiest and most successful general contracting firms.  His projects include new construction and renovation of K-12 schools, university projects, museums, municipal buildings, office buildings, hospitals and auto dealerships.  Under his direction, Kaufman Lynn General Contractors received the “2005 Business of the Year” award from the Greater Boca Raton Chamber of Commerce and the “2005 Contractor of the Year” award from the Palm Beach American Institute of Architects. 

He is a member of several construction industry associations.   His strong leadership in the community is evidenced by his involvement as a member of the Tri County Humane Society’s board of directors and his participation with the Boca Raton Museum of Art, the Centre for the Arts, Boca Raton Educational Television and the Boys and Girls Clubs.

            Louise P. Grant and Patricia A. McKay ’78 also will bring their unique skills to the Foundation Board as two of its new members.   Each will serve a three-year term on the board.

            For more than 10 years, Grant has served as executive director of the Mary & Robert Pew Public Education Fund in Jupiter.   She was formerly with the Community Foundation for Palm Beach and Martin Counties, Inc., and the Palm Beach County Cultural Arts Council, Inc.   Representing the Pew Fund, Grant has strongly supported the programmatic initiatives at FAU’s College of Education and the Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts and Letters.   In addition, she is a member of the Advisory Board of FAU’s College of Education.   Grant chairs the School District of Palm Beach County’s Charter School District Advisory Committee and the Arts in Education Committee.   She is also a trustee of the Palm Beach County Literacy Coalition and on the Pathfinders Executive Committee of the Palm Beach Post.

            McKay, an FAU Barry Kaye College of Business alumna, has been a partner with the public accounting firm of Templeton & Company with offices in West Palm Beach and Fort Lauderdale since January.   A certified public accountant, McKay previously served as executive vice president and chief financial officer at Office Depot, Inc., where she also served on its board of directors.   During McKay’s tenure at Office Depot, the company made a gift of $2.8 million to the College of Business for the construction of the Office Depot Center for Executive Education. An additional gift of $50,000 was made by Office Depot during this time and was earmarked to the School of Accounting.

Prior to joining Office Depot, McKay was executive vice president and CFO at Restoration Hardware, Inc.   In 2007, she was named one of the “100 Most Influential People in Finance” by Treasury and Risk Magazine.   A recent addition to the Dean’s Executive Council of the College of Business, McKay is a past member of FAU’s School of Accounting Advisory Board.   In 2006, McKay was inducted into the FAU National Alumni Association Hall of Fame.              

            Donna Grubman, Timothy O. Lenz and Tiffany Weimar also join the Foundation Board as three new ex-officio members.

            Donna Grubman is the president of FAU’s Lifelong Learning Society Board of Advisors.   A design major at Hunter College, Grubman earned a master’s degree in library science from the University of South Florida.   She worked for the Broward County Library system from 1976 to 1999.   Grubman also has served as president of the Florida Atlantic chapter of Women in Communications.

            Representing the University Faculty Senate on the Foundation Board is Faculty Senate President Timothy O. Lenz.   Currently chair of the department of political science, Lenz joined FAU’s academic community in 1984.   He teaches and researches American government and public law.   Active in the faculty union, faculty governance, curriculum development and professional development, Lenz earned a Ph.D. from the University of Minnesota.

            As president of FAU’s Student Government, Tiffany Weimar represents the interests of FAU’s 27,000-member student body as a member of the FAU Foundation Board.   Enrolled in the College of Business as a graduate student, Weimar hopes to earn an MBA in the summer 2010.   She earned an undergraduate degree from FAU, triple-majoring in international business and trade, marketing and business management in fall 2009.

- FAU -

Florida Atlantic University opened its doors in 1964 as the fifth public university in Florida. Today, the University serv es more than 26,000 undergraduate and graduate students on seven campuses strategically located along 150 miles of Florida's southeastern coastline. Building on its rich tradition as a teaching university, with a world-class faculty, FAU hosts 10 colleges :   the Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts & Letters, the Charles E. Schmidt College of Biomedical Science, the Charles E. Schmidt College of Science, the Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing, the Harriet L. Wilkes Honors College, the Barry Kaye College of Business and the Colleges of   Education, Engineering & Computer Science, and Architecture, Urban & Public Affairs.

Privacy Policy | University Regulations and Policies | Emergency Information | Get Help | Contact Us

An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution
© Copyright 2016. Florida Atlantic University.
Florida Atlantic University
 Last Modified 9/7/16