Media Relations

Press Release:

MEDIA CONTACT: Kristine M. McGrath

FAU Names New Board Leadership

            BOCA RATON, FL (January 26, 2007) - Florida Atlantic University’s Board of Trustees (BOT) unanimously named Norman Tripp as its new chair and Nancy Blosser as its new vice chair of the University’s governing board.

            “I look forward to working with Trustees Tripp and Blosser in their new roles, as both have shown such a strong commitment to FAU and higher education in general,” said FAU President Frank T. Brogan.   “The enthusiasm and dedication they exhibit will assist FAU in moving closer to its goal of being recognized as a leader in teaching and research.”

            Florida Atlantic University’s BOT governs and sets policies for the University in accordance with the laws of the State of Florida and the policies of the Board of Governors.   The trustees are responsible for cost-effective policy decisions appropriate to the university's mission, the implementation and maintenance of high-quality education programs, the measurement of performance, the reporting of information and the provision of input regarding state policy, budgeting and education standards.

            Chairman Tripp is founder, chairman emeritus and a partner in the Tripp Scott law firm in Fort Lauderdale.   Active in community efforts, Tripp served as a member and chair of the State Board of Community Colleges, a member and past chair of the Fort Lauderdale Downtown Development Authority, a member of the Broward Board for the Annenberg Challenge Grant and the Board of Governors for the Nova Southeastern University School of Business and as a past trustee for the University of Miami.   A founding benefactor of the Community Foundation of Broward, he began the Tripp Fund for Educational Opportunity and the Tripp Scott Fund for Community Diversity.   Tripp helped establish the George Mitchell Distinguished Visiting Professor Program at FAU. He was founder and general counsel of Alamo Rent-A-Car. Tripp, a resident of Ft. Lauderdale, received a bachelor's degree from the University of Miami and earned a Juris Doctor degree, magna cum laude, from Cleveland State University.

            Vice Chairman Blosser, of Fort Lauderdale, graduated from the Muhlenberg Hospital School of Nursing in New Jersey and received a master’s in business administration from the University of Miami.   Blosser has served as a member of the Friends of the Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing Advisory Board at FAU. A trustee since the BOT was created, she recently led the effort to develop, design and implement the university’s new strategic plan.   Blosser is active in many charitable and community organizations.

            “This is an exciting time at FAU, and I’m delighted to serve in a leadership role on the BOT,” said Blosser.

            During the January 17 board meeting in which the new leadership was elected, a new slate of committee chairs were named, including Armand Grossman, chair, and Robert Stilley, vice chair, of the Committee for Academic and Student Affairs; Scott Adams, chair, and Lalita Janke, vice chair, of the Strategic Planning Committee; and Nancy Blosser, chair, and William Bryant, vice chair, of the Audit and Finance Committee.

            FAU’s BOT is a thirteen member board comprised of six members who are appointed by the governor, five who are appointed by the Board of Governors, in addition to the student body president and the president of the University Faculty Senate. The gubernatorial and Board of Governors appointees must be confirmed by the Florida Senate.

- FAU -

Florida Atlantic University opened its doors in 1964 as the fifth public university in Florida. Today, the University serv es more than 26,000 undergraduate and graduate students on seven campuses strategically located along 150 miles of Florida's southeastern coastline. Building on its rich tradition as a teaching university, with a world-class faculty, FAU hosts nine colleges:  the Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts & Letters, the Charles E. Schmidt College of Biomedical Science, the Charles E. Schmidt College of Science, the Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing, the Harriet L. Wilkes Honors College, the Barry Kaye College of Business and the Colleges of  Education, Engineering & Computer Science, and Architecture, Urban & Public Affairs.

Privacy Policy | University Regulations and Policies | Emergency Information | Get Help | Contact Us

An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution
© Copyright 2016. Florida Atlantic University.
Florida Atlantic University
 Last Modified 8/26/12