FAU Hosts 39th Annual Honors Convocation

BOCA RATON, FL (**April 9, 2008**) – Florida Atlantic University President Frank T. Brogan and Provost John Pritchett will host the University's 39th annual Honors Convocation on Wednesday, April 9 at 5 p.m. at the University Theater, in the Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts and Letters, on FAU's Boca Raton campus, 777 Glades Road.

The annual ceremony recognizes the University's most outstanding students and faculty. (A full list of honorees is attached.) Students to be honored include eight university scholars, representing each of FAU's colleges; the Phi Kappa Phi scholars; the Stan and Renee Wimberly Scholar; and the Student Academic Athletes of the Year.

The volunteer service award, named the FAU Board of Trustees Service Award, will be awarded to someone who has a record of rendering volunteer service to the university.

Faculty honors include the presentation of the FAU National Alumni Association's Degree of Difference Award, University Researchers of the Year awards, university teaching and advising awards, and the Distinguished Teacher of the Year Award, which is determined by FAU students. The recipient of this award, Dr. Rose Sherman of the Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing, will present the keynote address.

"The honors convocation is a long-standing tradition at FAU," said Pritchett.

"This gives the university a chance to recognize our outstanding faculty, students and others who have contributed a great deal to our success."

For more information on the Honors Convocation, call 561-297-0884.

2008 Florida Atlantic University Honors Convocation Awardees

UNIVERSITY SCHOLARS

College of Architecture, Urban and Public Affairs Lester Machado Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts and Letters Cyndi Amaya Barry Kaye College of Business Joshuan Perera College of Education Bethany Alden College of Engineering and Computer Science Jeff Dusek Harriet L. Wilkes Honors College Sarah Fannin Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing Galina Dorfman Charles E. Schmidt College of Science Karen Prikkel

DISTINGUISHED STUDENT AWARD

Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing Seeta Nanoo

PHI KAPPA PHI SCHOLAR

Charles E. Schmidt College of Science Ximena Tavares

STUDENT ACADEMIC ATHLETES OF THE YEAR

Blair Bodenmiller and Chris Eberhart

THE UNIVERSITY CLUB SCHOLAR

Harriet L. Wilkes Honors College Edward Fulton

THE STAN AND RENEE WIMBERLY SCHOLAR

Barry Kaye College of Business Robert Jividen

ALUMNI "DEGREE OF DIFFERENCE" AWARD

Barry Kaye College of Business Kimberly Dunn

FAU BOARD OF TRUSTEES SERVICE AWARD

David Gury

UNIVERSITY RESEARCHERS OF THE YEAR AWARDS

Sponsor Project Oriented

Hassan Mahfuz Professor of the Year, Ocean Engineering

Edward Large Associate Professor of the Year, Complex Systems

& Brain Sciences

Hari Kalva Assistant Professor of the Year, Engineering and

Computer Science

Creative/Scholarly

Jan Walsh Hokenson Professor of the Year, Languages, Linguistics &

Comparative Studies

Timothy Steigenga Sameer Hinduja Associate Professor of the Year, Political Science Assistant Professor of the Year, Criminology &

Criminal Justice

UNIVERSITY TEACHING AND ADVISING AWARDS 2007-08

Undergraduate Teaching Awards

Harriet L. Wilkes Honors College	Hilary Edwards
Harriet L. Wilkes Honors College	Amy McLaughlin
College of Engineering & Computer Science	Bassem Alhalabi
College of Engineering & Computer Science	Shihong Huang
Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts & Letters	Mark Frezzo
Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts & Letters	Elena Machado
College of Architecture, Urban & Public Affairs	Clifford McCue

Undergraduate Advising Awards

College of Engineering & Computer Science	Digna Mejia
Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts & Letters	Martha Mendoza
Charles E. Schmidt College of Science	Shari Goldstein

THE DISTINGUISHED TEACHER OF THE YEAR

Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing Rose Sherman *

*bio attached

Dr. Rose Sherman

Dr. Rose Sherman joined the faculty of the Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing in June of 2002 as director of the Nursing Leadership Institute. Prior to assuming this position, Sherman had a 25 year career with the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) where she held leadership positions at five major VA Medical Centers, including the West Palm Beach, Miami, New York, Seattle and the Washington DC VA Medical Centers.

Sherman graduated Phi Beta Kappa with a BSN in nursing and a BA in political science from the University of Florida. Her master's degree in nursing is from the Catholic University of America in Washington DC, and her doctorate is in nursing leadership from Teachers College, Columbia University in New York City.

Sherman is currently an assistant professor of nursing and the coordinator for both the clinical nurse leader and nursing administration graduate programs. She has been the principal investigator on nursing leadership development program grants exceeding 1.5 million dollars over the past six years. In 2005, Sherman was named Florida Nurse Leader of the Year by the Florida Organization of Nurse Executives for the work that she has done in the state developing nursing leaders. In 2006, she was one of twenty nursing leaders nationwide selected by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation for a three year Executive Nurse Fellowship.

Sherman has been married for 35 years to her husband Jim, a retired Coast Guard officer and currently the assistant county administrator in Martin County. They have one son, Mark, who is a first year law student at the University of Chicago.