Deans & Directors

The Vice President's Deans and Directors are a team of student affairs professionals committed to enhancing the total student experience at Florida Atlantic University.  The team works with the Vice President in providing quality services and programs that complement the academic mission of the University.

 
Ilene Mates
Ilene Mates
Assistant Vice President of Student Affairs
for Finance and Administration

SU Bldg, Rm. 215
Ph: 561-297-1018
imates@fau.edu
Bio
 
Larry Faerman
Dr. Larry Faerman 
Interim Dean of Students  
SS Bldg 8, Rm. 226 
Ph: 561-297-3542 
lfaerman@fau.edu
Bio
 
Dr. Elyse Chaplin
Dr. Elyse K. Chaplin 
Assoc. Dean of Students 
SS Bldg 8, Rm. 226
Ph: 561-297-3542 
chapline@fau.edu
Bio
 
Dr. Horstman
Dr. William Horstman
Associate Dean
Campus Life
Broward Campuses
LA Bldg, Rm. 109
Ph: 954-236-1236 
horstman@fau.edu
Bio
 
Terry Mena
Terry Mena
Assoc. Dean of Students
SR 119 
Ph: 561-799-8521 
tmena@fau.edu
Bio
 
Dawn Howard
Dawn Howard
Director
Marketing & Communications
SU Bldg, Rm. 215

Ph: 561-297-0910
dhowar10@fau.edu
Bio
 
Joanna Ellwood
Joanna Ellwood
Associate Dean of Students &
Director of Student Conduct 
SS Bldg 8, Rm. 226

Ph: 561-297-3542
jellwood@fau.edu
Bio
 
Dylan Reyes-Cairo
Dylan Reyes-Cairo
Assistant Dean for Military/Veteran Affairs
SS Bldg 8, Rm. 226
Ph: 561-297-3547
dreyescairo@fau.edu
Bio
 
Laura Johnson
Laura Johnson 
Director
Campus Recreation
Recreation & Fitness Ctr.
Ph: 561-297-4512
johnsonl@fau.edu
Bio
 
Sandra Jakubow
Sandra L. Jakubow
Director
Career Development Ctr.
SU Bldg, Rm. 220
Ph: 561-297-3533
sjakubow@fau.edu
Bio
 
Kirk Dougher
Dr. Kirk Dougher
Director
Counseling & Psychological Services

SS Bldg 8, Rm. 227
Ph: 561-297-3540
dougher@fau.edu
Bio
 
raquel
Dr. Raquel Cabral
Interim Director
Health & Education Wellness
SS Bldg 8, Rm. 222 
Ph: 561-297-0169 
cabralr@fau.edu
Bio
 
Brian Davis
Brian Davis
Executive Director
Housing & Residential Life
Student Housing Services
Bldg 46, Rm. 230 
Ph: 561-297-2880
davisb@fau.edu
 
Dr. Mihaela Metianu
Dr. Mihaela Metianu
Director
International Student & Scholar Services
SU Bldg, Rm. 214
Ph: 561-297-3049
mmetianu@fau.edu
Bio
 
Katie Burke
Katie Burke
Director
Leadership Education & Development 
UN 31, Rm. 206
Ph: 561-297-3735 
kburke19@fau.edu
Bio
 
Juan
Juan Izaguirre
Director
Multicultural Affairs
SS Bldg 8, Rm. 224
Ph: 561-297-3959
jizagui2@fau.edu
Bio
 
Heather Bishara
Heather Bishara
Director
New Student & Owl Family Programs
SU Bldg, Rm. 130
Ph: 561-297-2733
hbishara@fau.edu
Bio
 
Christine Lynch
Christine Hall Lynch
Director
Parent & Family Programs 
Ph: 561-297-3615
clynch13@fau.edu
Bio
 
Sherry Bynes
Sherry Bynes
Director
Pre-College Programs
SS Bldg 8, Rm. 228
Ph: 954-762-5238
sbynes1@fau.edu
Bio
 
Derek Horton
Derek Horton 
Interim Director
Student Health Services

SS Bldg 8-W, Rm. 234
Ph: 561-297-3516
dhorton5@fau.edu
Bio
 
PNA
T.B.A
Director

Student Involvement
 
PNA
T.B.A.
Director
Student Union 
 
Michelle Shaw
Michelle Shaw
Interim Director
Office for Students with Disabilities
SU Bldg, Rm. 133
Ph: 561-297-3880
mshaw@fau.edu
Bio
 
Nori Carter
Nori Carter
Director
Weppner Ctr. for Civic Engagement & Service
UN 31, Rm. 218 
Ph:561-297-3607
ncarte10@fau.edu
Bio
 
FAU Campuses: Boca Raton/Davie/Dania Beach/Fort Lauderdale/Jupiter/Treasure Coast Boca Raton Campus Danie Beach Campus Davie Campus Fort Lauderdale Campus Harbor Branch Campus Jupiter Campus Treasure Campus
 Last Modified 7/23/14