Deans & Directors

The Vice President's Deans and Directors are a team of student affairs professionals committed to enhancing the total student experience at Florida Atlantic University.  The team works with the Vice President in providing quality services and programs that complement the academic mission of the University.

 
Dr. Andrea Juarez
Dr. Andrea  Juarez (Oliver)
Acting Associate Vice President of Student Affairs
for Strategic Planning, Assessment, Research and Academic Initiatives
SU Bldg., Rm. 215 
Ph: 561-297-6744 
juareza@fau.edu
Bio
 
Ilene Mates
Ilene Mates
Assistant Vice President of Student Affairs
for Finance and Administration

SU Bldg, Rm. 215
Ph: 561-297-1018
imates@fau.edu
Bio
 
Larry Faerman
Dr. Larry Faerman 
Interim Dean of Students  
SS Bldg 8, Rm. 226 
Ph: 561-297-3542 
lfaerman@fau.edu
Bio
 
Dr. Elyse Chaplin
Dr. Elyse K. Chaplin 
Associate Dean of Students 
SS Bldg 8, Rm. 226
Ph: 561-297-3542 
chapline@fau.edu
Bio
 
Terry Mena
Terry Mena
Associate Dean of Students
Bldg.  8, Room 226 
Ph: 561-297-3937 
tmena@fau.edu
Bio
 
Dawn Howard
Dawn Howard
Director
Marketing & Communications
SU Bldg, Rm. 215

Ph: 561-297-0910
dhowar10@fau.edu
Bio
 
Dr. Horstman
Dr. William Horstman
Director
Campus Life

Broward Campuses
SD Bldg, Rm. 203
Ph: 954-236-1236 
horstman@fau.edu
Bio

Julie Kincaid
Julie Kincaid
Interim Director
Campus Life
Northern Campuses
SR 119
Ph: 561-799-8585
jkincai1@fau.edu
Bio
 
Joanna Ellwood
Joanna Ellwood
Associate Dean of Students &
Director of Student Conduct 
SS Bldg 8, Rm. 226

Ph: 561-297-3542
jellwood@fau.edu
Bio
 
PNA
T.B.A.
Director for Military/Veteran Affairs
 
Laura Johnson
Laura Johnson 
Director
Campus Recreation
Recreation & Fitness Center
Ph: 561-297-4512
johnsonl@fau.edu
Bio
 
Sandra Jakubow
Sandra L. Jakubow
Executive Director
Career Development Center
SU Bldg, Rm. 220
Ph: 561-297-3533
sjakubow@fau.edu
Bio
 
Brian Montalvo
Brian Montalvo 
Director
Career Development Center
SU Bldg, Rm. 220
Ph: 561-297-3533

 
Kirk Dougher
Dr. Kirk Dougher
Executive Director for Health & Wellness
Director of CAPS
SS Bldg 8, Rm. 227
Ph: 561-297-3540
dougher@fau.edu
Bio
 
raquel
Dr. Raquel Cabral
Interim Director
Owls Care Health Promotion
SS Bldg 8, Rm. 222 
Ph: 561-297-0169 
cabralr@fau.edu
Bio
 
Brian Davis
Brian Davis
Director
Student Affairs Initiatives
davisb@fau.edu
 
Dr. Mihaela Metianu
Dr. Mihaela Metianu
Director
International Student & Scholar Services
SU Bldg, Rm. 214
Ph: 561-297-3049
mmetianu@fau.edu
Bio
 
Katie Burke
Katie Burke
Director
Leadership Education and Development (LEAD)
UN 31, Rm. 206
Ph: 561-297-3735 
kburke19@fau.edu
Bio
 
Juan
Juan Izaguirre
Director
Office of Diversity and Multicultural Affairs
SS Bldg 8, Rm. 224
Ph: 561-297-3959
jizagui2@fau.edu
Bio
 
Karen Murray
 Karen Murray
Acting Assistant Dean & Director
New Student Orientation  
UN 31, Rm. 130
Ph: 561-297-0953
murrayk@fau.edu
Bio
 
Christine Lynch
Christine Hall Lynch
Director
Parent & Family Programs 
Ph: 561-297-3615
clynch13@fau.edu
Bio
 
Michele Hendricks
Michelle Hendricks 
Director
Student Health Services

SS Bldg 8-W, Rm. 234
Ph: 561-297-3516
dhorton5@fau.edu
Bio
 
PNA
Shontae White
Director
Student Involvement
UN 31, Rm. 220B  
Ph: 561-297-3735
PNA
T.B.A.
Director
Student Union 
 
Michelle Shaw
Michelle Shaw
Interim Director
Office for Students with Disabilities
SU Bldg, Rm. 133
Ph: 561-297-3880
mshaw@fau.edu
Bio
 
PNA
T.B.A.
Director
Housing & Residential Life
 
Sherry Bynes
Sherry Bynes
Director
Upward Bound
SS Bldg 8, Rm. 228
Ph: 954-762-5238
sbynes1@fau.edu
Bio
 
Nori Carter
Nori Carter
Director
Weppner Center for Service-Learning and Civic Responsibility
UN 31, Rm. 218 
Ph:561-297-3607
ncarte10@fau.edu
Bio
 
FAU Campuses: Boca Raton/Davie/Dania Beach/Fort Lauderdale/Jupiter/Treasure Coast Boca Raton Campus Danie Beach Campus Davie Campus Fort Lauderdale Campus Harbor Branch Campus Jupiter Campus Treasure Campus
 Last Modified 10/20/14