Media Relations

Press Release:


FAU Announces Appointment of Deans, Assistant Provost for Student Success

BOCA RATON, Fla. (November 1, 2013) – Florida Atlantic University’s Interim Provost and Chief Academic Officer Gary W. Perry, Ph.D., has announced the appointment of two deans to three-year terms, in addition to naming an assistant provost for student success. Perry made the following appointments:

  • Heather Coltman, DMA, will serve as dean of FAU’s Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts and Letters.
  • Mohammad Ilyas, Ph.D., will serve as dean of FAU’s College of Engineering and Computer Science.
  • Jennifer Peluso, Ph.D., will serve as assistant provost for student success.

“In recent months, the University community has been able to come together and begin to shape the academic direction of the institution,” Perry said. “With this group of leaders, I am confident that this progress will continue.”

Both Coltman and Ilyas have served as interim deans since May 2011. Coltman, an accomplished concert pianist and recording artist, is also a former chair and professor of music. Ilyas previously served as associate dean for research and industry relations, in addition to his responsibility as chair and professor of computer science and engineering.

In her new role, Peluso will work with all stakeholders to oversee the creation of a university-wide student success plan. She most recently served as director for the scholarship of teaching at FAU’s award-winning Center for Teaching and Learning, as well as a member of the executive committee for the University’s quality enhancement plan, “Distinction through Discovery.” She is also an instructor in the Department of Psychology within the Charles E. Schmidt College of Science, where she served as director of assessment.

“We must focus our efforts on improving the quality of the undergraduate experience that we offer, and appointing Dr. Peluso as the assistant provost for student success is one of the first steps towards achieving that goal,” Perry said.

Perry also announced that Rosalyn Carter, Ph.D., dean of FAU’s College for Design and Social Inquiry, has decided not to step down at the end of the 2013-2014 academic year. Carter, who has led the College for more than 20 years, previously planned on returning to the faculty. Instead, she will continue to serve as dean for the foreseeable future.

All appointments are effective Monday, Nov. 4.


Florida Atlantic University, established in 1961, officially opened its doors in 1964 as the fifth public university in Florida. Today, the University, with an annual economic impact of $6.3 billion, serves more than 30,000 undergraduate and graduate students at sites throughout its six-county service region in southeast Florida. FAU’s world-class teaching and research faculty serves students through 10 colleges: the Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts and Letters, the College of Business, the College for Design and Social Inquiry, the College of Education, the College of Engineering and Computer Science, the Graduate College, the Harriet L. Wilkes Honors College, the Charles E. Schmidt College of Medicine, the Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing and the Charles E. Schmidt College of Science. FAU is ranked as a High Research Activity institution by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching. The University is placing special focus on the rapid development of three signature themes – marine and coastal issues, biotechnology and contemporary societal challenges – which provide opportunities for faculty and students to build upon FAU’s existing strengths in research and scholarship. For more information, visit

Privacy Policy | University Regulations and Policies | Emergency Information | Get Help | Contact Us

An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution
© Copyright 2016. Florida Atlantic University.
Boca Raton Campus Danie Beach Campus Davie Campus Fort Lauderdale Campus Harbor Branch Campus Jupiter Campus Treasure Campus
 Last Modified 9/7/16