Media Relations

Press Release:

MEDIA CONTACT: Kristine M. Gobbo

FAU Names Dr. David J. Bjorkman Dean of the Charles E. Schmidt College of Medicine


BOCA RATON, FL (November 14, 2011) – Florida Atlantic University has named Dr. David J. Bjorkman, M.D., M.P.H., as the dean of the Charles E. Schmidt College of Medicine. In his new role, Bjorkman will take the lead in the development of FAU's new medical school, as it evolves to become a nationally recognized and world-class medical institution.
            "Dr. Bjorkman's impressive background and prior contributions to the health sciences are strongly indicative of the leader FAU sought for its College of Medicine," said FAU President Mary Jane Saunders. "His keen understanding of medical education today, as well as his strategic vision for the future of the College, will help to build FAU's reputation in the field of medicine and science."
            As dean of the College of Medicine, Bjorkman will provide the highest quality educational experience for physicians in training; encourage and nurture collaborative and interdisciplinary relationships with other colleges and schools within FAU, as well as other hospitals, institutions and clinical partners; foster and enhance clinical partnerships within the three-county area in which FAU resides; cultivate and support significant growth in the research mission of the College; and engage in discussions pertaining to healthcare issues in South Florida and throughout the state.    

Bjorkman has been the dean of the University of Utah School of Medicine since 2004, executive medical director of the University of Utah Medical Group in Salt Lake City, Utah since 2000, as well as a professor of medicine within the department of internal medicine at University of Utah since 1999. Prior to that, he served as the assistant dean for continuing medical education and educational assessment, as well as the associate chief of the department of internal medicine within the division of gastroenterology at the University of Utah.       

"I am very pleased that Dr. Bjorkman will be joining us as the next dean of FAU's College of Medicine. He has the skills and experience to foster excellence in instruction and research in the College, and to build long-lasting partnerships with the community," said FAU Provost Brenda Claiborne. "I look forward to working with him."Bjorkman holds a medical degree from the University of Utah, a master's degree in epidemiology from the Harvard School of Public Health at Harvard University, a master's degree in public health and health services administration from the University of Utah, as well as a bachelor's degree in political science from the University of Utah.  He is also board certified with the National Board of Medical Examiners, as well as with the American Board of Internal Medicine for internal medicine and gastroenterology.           

The Charles E. Schmidt College of Medicine welcomed its inaugural class of 64 students in August. The College's innovative curriculum titled "Integrated Patient Focused Curriculum" features early and continuous community-based clinical experiences and problem-based learning with emphasis on small-group and self-directed learning. From day one of their training and education, students work side-by-side with community physician preceptors in the diagnosis and treatment of patients, applying knowledge learned from the first two years of study to real-life situations. In addition, the College of Medicine is currently taking a leadership role in creating new graduate medical education programs sponsored by the medical school and provided through a consortium of five affiliated hospitals in the FAU service region.

FAU's College of Medicine also has a unique program that offers both the M.D. and a dual M.D./Ph.D. degree in partnership with The Scripps Research Institute's Kellogg Graduate School of Science and Technology, whose programs consistently rank among the top in the country.


Florida Atlantic University, established in 1961, officially opened its doors in 1964 as the fifth public university in Florida. In commemoration of its origin, FAU is celebrating its 50th anniversary throughout 2011. Today, the University serves more than 29,000 undergraduate and graduate students on seven campuses and sites. FAU’s world-class teaching and research faculty serves students through 10 colleges: the Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts and Letters, the College of Business, the College for Design and Social Inquiry, the College of Education, the College of Engineering and Computer Science, the Graduate College, the Harriet L. Wilkes Honors College, the Charles E. Schmidt College of Medicine, the Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing and the Charles E. Schmidt College of Science. FAU is ranked as a High Research Activity institution by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching. For more information, visit

Privacy Policy | University Regulations and Policies | Emergency Information | Get Help | Contact Us

An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution
© Copyright 2016. Florida Atlantic University.
Boca Raton Campus Danie Beach Campus Davie Campus Fort Lauderdale Campus Harbor Branch Campus Jupiter Campus Treasure Campus
 Last Modified 9/7/16