Media Relations

Press Release:


FAU Professor Receives Foreign Policy Association Medal

BOCA RATON, FL (October 10, 2012) – Jeffrey S. Morton, Ph.D., political science professor at FAU, recently received the prestigious Foreign Policy Association Medal at the World Leadership Forum Dinner in New York City.

The Foreign Policy Association (FPA) was founded in 1918 to promote a broad public understanding of American foreign policy and both the challenges and opportunities that confront the nation abroad. The FPA awards Medals annually to leading practitioners of foreign policy and to academics who research and teach in the area of U.S. foreign policy. Past recipients of the Foreign Policy Association Medal include President Bill Clinton, Secretaries of State Colin Powell and Madeleine Albright, and Secretary of Defense William Cohen.

Also receiving a Foreign Policy Association Medal at this year’s ceremony was Ambassador Paula Dobriansky, former Under-Secretary for Democracy and Global Affairs in the George W. Bush administration.

Jeffrey Morton earned his Ph.D. from the University of South Carolina in 1995, specializing in International Relations. He has taught at Florida Atlantic University since 1994, achieving the status of Full Professor in 2006. In 2004, he was the recipient of the university’s Researcher of the Year Award and Talon Award for service to the community. Morton is also director of FAU’s Diplomacy Program.

In 2007, the program received its first national award for academic excellence at the National Model United Nations competition in New York City. Each year since, FAU’s delegation has been honored with a national award.


Florida Atlantic University, established in 1961, officially opened its doors in 1964 as the fifth public university in Florida. Today, the University, with an annual economic impact of $6.3 billion, serves more than 30,000 undergraduate and graduate students at sites throughout its six-county service region in southeast Florida. FAU’s world-class teaching and research faculty serves students through 10 colleges: the Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts and Letters, the College of Business, the College for Design and Social Inquiry, the College of Education, the College of Engineering and Computer Science, the Graduate College, the Harriet L. Wilkes Honors College, the Charles E. Schmidt College of Medicine, the Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing and the Charles E. Schmidt College of Science. FAU is ranked as a High Research Activity institution by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching. The University is placing special focus on the rapid development of three signature themes – marine and coastal issues, biotechnology and contemporary societal challenges – which provide opportunities for faculty and students to build upon FAU’s existing strengths in research and scholarship. For more information, visit

Privacy Policy | University Regulations and Policies | Emergency Information | Get Help | Contact Us

An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution
© Copyright 2016. Florida Atlantic University.
Boca Raton Campus Danie Beach Campus Davie Campus Fort Lauderdale Campus Harbor Branch Campus Jupiter Campus Treasure Campus
 Last Modified 9/7/16