Media Relations

Press Release:

561-297-3022, or
Molly McElroy

Two FAU Professors Named 2008 American Association for the Advancement of Science Fellows

BOCA RATON, FL (December 23, 2008) – Dr. David Kumar and Dr. Betty Tuller of Florida Atlantic University have been awarded the distinction of an American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) Fellow.

As part of the section of education, Kumar, a professor of science education at FAU, was elected as an AAAS Fellow for distinguished contributions to science education, particularly for cognitive theory-based hypermedia science teaching and learning, and for outstanding leadership in policy.

Tuller, a professor of complex systems and brain sciences and a professor of psychology at FAU, was honored as an AAAS fellow for distinguished contributions to the understanding of speech-motor and speech-perceptual processes using the tools of computational cognitive science and experimental psychology in the section of linguistics and language studies. Tuller also is the director of the perception, action and cognitive program of the National Science Foundation.

Election as a Fellow is an honor bestowed upon AAAS members by their peers. This year, 486 members were awarded this honor by AAAS for their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications. New Fellows will be presented with an official certificate and a gold and blue (representing science and engineering, respectively) rosette pin on Saturday, February 14, 2009 from 8 to 10 a.m. at the AAAS Fellows Forum during the 2009 AAAS Annual Meeting in Chicago.

The tradition of AAAS Fellows began in 1874. Currently, members can be considered for the rank of Fellow if nominated by the steering groups of the Association’s 24 sections, or by any three Fellows who are current AAAS members (so long as two of the three sponsors are not affiliated with the nominee's institution), or by the AAAS chief executive officer. Each steering group then reviews the nominations of individuals within its respective section and a final list is forwarded to the AAAS Council, which votes on the aggregate list.


About Florida Atlantic University:

Florida Atlantic University opened its doors in 1964 as the fifth public university in Florida. Today, the University serves more than 26,000 undergraduate and graduate students on seven campuses strategically located along 150 miles of Florida's southeastern coastline. Building on its rich tradition as a teaching university, with a world-class faculty, FAU hosts 10 colleges: College of Architecture, Urban & Public Affairs, Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts & Letters, the Charles E. Schmidt College of Biomedical Science, the Barry Kaye College of Business, the College of Education, the College of Engineering & Computer Science, the Harriet L. Wilkes Honors College, the Graduate College, the Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing and the Charles E. Schmidt College of Science

About the American Association for the Advancement of Science:

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) is the world’s largest general scientific society, and publisher of the journal, Science ( AAAS was founded in 1848, and includes some 262 affiliated societies and academies of science, serving 10 million individuals. Science has the largest paid circulation of any peer-reviewed general science journal in the world, with an estimated total readership of 1 million. The non-profit AAAS ( is open to all and fulfills its mission to “advance science and serve society” through initiatives in science policy; international programs; science education; and more. For the latest research news, log onto EurekAlert!,, the premier science-news Web site, a service of AAAS.

Privacy Policy | University Regulations and Policies | Emergency Information | Get Help | Contact Us

An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution
© Copyright 2016. Florida Atlantic University.
Florida Atlantic University
 Last Modified 9/7/16