Media Relations

Press Release:

MEDIA CONTACT: Jessica Goldstein

FAU’s Boca Raton Lifelong Learning Society Announces its Winter 2009 Course Schedule

BOCA RATON, FL (December 22, 2008) – Florida Atlantic University has announced its Lifelong Learning Society (LLS) course offerings for the Winter 2009 semester, which begins Monday, January 5, 2009, at the Barry & Florence Friedberg Lifelong Learning Society complex, 777 Glades Road, Boca Raton campus.

Winter 2009 course offerings are divided into four categories – special conferences, special performance lectures, performance lectures and lecture series. Taught by FAU professors and distinguished guest lecturers, course offerings, presented in one-day, four- and eight-week formats, include such varied subjects as foreign policy, political science, film, art history, music and literature.

Lectures include:

·         One-time performance lectures are Monday, January 5 through Thursday, January 8.

·         Regular eight-week lectures take place on Mondays, beginning January 12 through March 9.

·         Special Saturday morning conferences convened by national and international leaders will take place on Saturday, February 7 and February 14 .

The LLS was established to provide adults of all ages the opportunity to enrich their lives through non-credit, university-level courses with no homework or tests. More than 20,033 enrollments were recorded for LLS lectures in 2007-08.

To register for courses or to receive a free winter course catalog, contact Virginia Huntzinger at 561-297-2447 or, or visit


Florida Atlantic University opened its doors in 1964 as the fifth public university in Florida. Today, the University serves more than 26,000 undergraduate and graduate students on seven campuses strategically located along 150 miles of Florida's southeastern coastline. Building on its rich tradition as a teaching university, with a world-class faculty, FAU hosts ten colleges:  College of Architecture, Urban & Public Affairs, Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts & Letters, the Charles E. Schmidt College of Biomedical Science, the Barry Kaye College of Business, the College of  Education, the College of  Engineering & Computer Science, the Harriet L. Wilkes Honors College, the Graduate College,   the Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing and the Charles E. Schmidt College of Science.  

Privacy Policy | University Regulations and Policies | Emergency Information | Get Help | Contact Us

An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution
© Copyright 2016. Florida Atlantic University.
Florida Atlantic University
 Last Modified 8/26/12