Media Relations

Press Release:


FAU Honors Outstanding Leaders at Homecoming 2008 Talon Awards Ceremony

BOCA RATON, FL (December 5, 2008) – Florida Atlantic University recently held its 13th Talon Awards ceremony, as part of Homecoming 2008.   Since 1997, the Talon Awards ceremony has recognized outstanding leaders from the community, alumni constituency, faculty and student body.   Co-sponsored by the FAU National Alumni Association (FAUNAA) and FAU Student Government, this year’s event and reception were held at the newly dedicated Marleen and Harold Forkas Alumni Center on the Boca Raton campus.   Honored that evening were Office Depot, Inc.; Armand Grossman ’67, ’70, ’77; Dr. Cynthia Blum ’06 and Edward Fulton.

            “Once again, we are gathered together to pay tribute to an outstanding selection of Talon Award recipients,” said FAU President Frank T. Brogan ’81.   “Over the years, the Talon Awards have become a University tradition.   What makes tonight’s celebration so special is that we are hosting it in our beautiful new alumni home.”          

            The recipient of the 2008 President’s Talon Award was Office Depot, Inc.   Typically this award is given to an individual whose efforts in the community show a true commitment to FAU and its mission.   Office Depot is the first company to receive this award.   As a corporate partner to FAU for the past 15 years, Office Depot is well deserving of this honor.   Two major gifts to FAU’s Barry Kaye College of Business from Office Depot totaling $2.8 million have helped build the Office Depot Center for Executive Education and the Office Depot Grand Lecture Hall.   An additional gift of $600,000 has funded the Office Depot Eminent Scholar Chair in Small Business Research.   Other gifts from Office Depot have been made to the Marleen & Harold Forkas Alumni Center and to the department of accounting in the College of Business.  

            “We are very proud to stand among past recipients of FAU’s President’s Talon Awards,” said Barbara Callan-Bogia, vice president of organizational development for Office Depot.   “Office Depot has had the distinct privilege of partnering with the FAU community, its students and faculty over the past two decades.   We are most grateful to FAU and for the university’s immeasurable impact it has had upon the South Florida community and Office Depot.”

            This year’s recipient of the Alumni Talon Award was Armand Grossman ’67, ’70, ’77.   Acknowledging leadership, achievement, community involvement and loyalty to FAU and the FAUNAA, the Alumni Talon Award is presented annually to a member of the FAU alumni body.   Grossman, who was selected from a strong field of contenders, is a commercial real estate broker and developer who is currently working for the Donald Trump Organization.   His other professional interests are focused in the area of human development.   For the past 18 years, Grossman has conducted nearly 1,500 seminars worldwide on the subject of personal transition.  

            A member of FAU’s inaugural class, Grossman helped found FAU’s Student Government Association, launched the student newspaper and was instrumental in organizing athletic activities on campus.   His affinity for FAU continues today as evidenced by the numerous leadership roles he has accepted at the University.   Grossman is a former two-term president of the FAUNAA, past chair of the FAU Foundation Board and currently is an FAU Board of Trustee member.   Grossman is a major benefactor of the Marleen and Harold Forkas Alumni Center and a member of both the President’s Club and 1961 Society.  

            “What a thrill to be honored by my alumni peers,” said Grossman.   “My loyalty to FAU goes all the way to this University’s very beginnings.   No matter how many times I come to the campus, images of the past flash before me.   I could never give back what this University has given to me.”

Accepting the 2007 Faculty Talon Award was Dr. Cynthia Blum ’06.   Chosen from a field of worthy candidates, Blum typifies excellence in teaching.   An assistant professor in the Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing, Blum also earned her doctorate at FAU in 2006.   As clinical coordinator of FAU’s undergraduate nursing program, the first in this position, Blum advises and mentors more than 100 traditional and accelerated students.   She builds relationships between the college, hospital and health care facilities throughout Palm Beach and Broward counties.

The recipient of the 2008 Student Talon Award was Edward Fulton.   Honored for his academic achievements, extracurricular involvement and outstanding leadership in student government, Fulton is a junior in the Harriet L. Wilkes Honors College.   A Henry Morrison Flagler Scholar, Fulton is pursuing a biochemistry concentration with particular interest in intracellular transport enzymes and the role these enzymes play in such illnesses as Lou Gehrig’s disease.   His goal is to obtain both a medical degree and doctorate in public health policy.

            Prior to the Talon Awards presentation, 13 FAU graduates were inducted into the Parliament of OWLS (Older, Wiser LeaderS).   The University’s alumni honor society, the Parliament of OWLS recognizes and reunites outstanding alumni who are former student leaders, past presidents of the FAUNAA, distinguished alumni of the colleges and Alumni Hall of Fame members.

            The FAUNAA is a non-profit alumni organization that represents the more than 106,000 FAU alumni.   For more information about the FAUNAA, contact the alumni relations at 1-888-FAU-ALUM or 1-888-328-2586.


Florida Atlantic University opened its doors in 1964 as the fifth public university in Florida. Today, the University serves more than 26,000 undergraduate and graduate students on seven campuses strategically located along 150 miles of Florida's southeastern coastline. Building on its rich tradition as a teaching university, with a world-class faculty, FAU hosts ten colleges:  College of Architecture, Urban & Public Affairs, Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts & Letters, the Charles E. Schmidt College of Biomedical Science, the Barry Kaye College of Business, the College of  Education, the College of  Engineering & Computer Science, the Harriet L. Wilkes Honors College, the Graduate College,   the Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing and the Charles E. Schmidt College of Science.

Privacy Policy | University Regulations and Policies | Emergency Information | Get Help | Contact Us

An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution
© Copyright 2016. Florida Atlantic University.
Florida Atlantic University
 Last Modified 9/7/16