Media Relations

Press Release:

MEDIA CONTACT:   Lisa Metcalf


Pulitzer Prize-winning Alumna Mirta Ojito to Speak at FAU

            BOCA RATON, FL (October 5, 2010) – Florida Atlantic University will host alumna Mirta Ojito ’86, a Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist, who will deliver a public lecture and sign copies of her book, Finding Mañana: A Memoir of a Cuban Exodus.  She will appear on Thursday, October 7, from 4 to 6 p.m., in FAU’s University Theatre in the Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts and Letters, Boca Raton campus. 

            Ojito’s book, this year’s freshmen reading selection, is a first-person account of the Mariel boatlift that brought more than 125,000 Cubans to Florida in 1980.  The book recounts her own departure from her native land and also the stories of others who lived through the chaos of that time. 

            Ojito was an outstanding student, graduating from Miami Dade College and attending FAU on a Phi Theta Kappa scholarship.  Upon her graduation from FAU in 1986 with a bachelor’s degree in communication, she received the Kenneth R. Williams Leadership Award, one of the highest honors a student can attain.  Ojito began her career in journalism at The Miami Herald and El Nuevo Herald, and in 1996 joined the staff of The New York Times.  The recipient of many awards and honors, Ojito holds a master’s degree in journalism from Columbia University, and she now serves on the faculty of Columbia’s Graduate School of Journalism.

- FAU -

About Florida Atlantic University:

Florida Atlantic University opened its doors in 1964 as the fifth public university in Florida. Today, the University serves more than 28,000 undergraduate and graduate students on seven campuses and sites. Building on its rich tradition as a teaching university, with a world-class faculty, FAU hosts 10 colleges: the Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts & Letters, the College of Business, the College for Design and Social Inquiry, the College of  Education, the College of  Engineering & Computer Science, the Graduate College, the Harriet L. Wilkes Honors College, the Charles E. Schmidt College of Medicine, the Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing and the Charles E. Schmidt College of Science. For more information, visit

Privacy Policy | University Regulations and Policies | Emergency Information | Get Help | Contact Us

An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution
© Copyright 2016. Florida Atlantic University.
Florida Atlantic University
 Last Modified 9/7/16