Media Relations

Press Release:



FAU’s Music Season Opens with Piano and Symphony Orchestra Concerts

BOCA RATON, FL (September 15, 2009) Florida Atlantic University’s department of music in the Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts and Letters will open its season with “88 Keys: 70 Fingers,” a concert presented by the FAU music faculty, on Saturday, October 3 at 7:30 p.m. This will be followed by a concert presented by FAU’s Symphony Orchestra, under the direction of Laura Joella, on Sunday, October 4 at 3 p.m. Both concerts will take place in the University Theatre on FAU’s Boca Raton campus.  Admission is free with a suggested donation of $10.

            The piano faculty concert will feature classical works and new jazz arrangements by David Rossow, an adjunct faculty member at FAU.  The first half of the concert will feature Bach’s Transcendental Etude #11,  “Harmonies du soir” ; Mozart’s  Twelve Variations "Ah, vous dirai je, maman”; Chopin’s “Ballade #1 in G Minor”; Brahms’ “Capriccio Op 117#2 in B flat minor and Capriccio OP 116 #3 in g minor”; and Schubert’s “Fantasie in F minor.” After a brief intermission, the second half will open with a jazz arrangement made up of works by Henry Mancini, Johnny Mercer, Jimmy Rowles and J.S. Bach. This will be followed by “Three Novelettes” by Francis Poulenc; “Sonata No. 2” by Sergei Rachmaninoff; and “Hungarian Dances” by Brahms. The piano faculty performers include Heather Coltman, chair of FAU’s department of music, Judith Burganger, Krisztina Kover, David Rossow, Leonid Treer and Anne Louise-Turgeon.

The Symphony Orchestra will present a concert of Italian, Spanish and Russian masterworks on October 4.  The first half of the concert will open with the dramatic overture from the Italian Dramma lirico, “Nabucco,” composed by Giuseppe Verdi, which will be followed by the Intermezzo from Act III of the Italian Dramma lirico, “Manon Lescaut,” composed by Giacomo Puccini.  The first half will close with two works that will feature FAU’s Professor of Double Bass, Benjamin Joella.  The first work is the Italian Bass Concerto No. 2 in B Minor by Giovanni Bottesin, and the second work is a Spanish showpiece by the famous virtuoso violinist Pablo de Sarasate, “Zigeunerweisen” (Gipsy Airs), op. 20 – which is rarely heard on the double bass as it was originally composed for violin and orchestra.  After intermission, the concert will conclude with two famous and extremely dramatic works by two influential Russian composers.  The first is Piotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky’s “Romeo and Juliet Overture-Fantasy,” and the second is Alexander Borodin’s Polovtsian Dances from the opera “Prince Igor.”   

For further information about concerts at FAU, visit or call 561-297-3820.

- FAU -

Privacy Policy | University Regulations and Policies | Emergency Information | Get Help | Contact Us

An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution
© Copyright 2016. Florida Atlantic University.
Florida Atlantic University
 Last Modified 9/7/16