Media Relations

Press Release:


FAU Hosts Fourth Annual Freshman Convocation

            BOCA RATON, FL (August 20, 2010) – More than 2,600 freshmen students have been invited to Florida Atlantic University’s fourth annual Freshman Convocation on Sunday, August 22, beginning at  1 p.m. in the Carole and Barry Kaye Performing Arts Auditorium, 777 Glades Road, Boca Raton campus.  The formality of the Freshman Convocation serves to underscore the important transition that is taking place in their lives and to extend the support of the university community to its newest members.

President Mary Jane Saunders, Interim Provost Diane Alperin and Student Government President Ayden Maher will be welcoming the students.  The Phi Kappa Phi Freshman and Freshman Success Scholarship awards will also be announced during the ceremony.

The keynote speaker at this year’s convocation will be Dr. Sameer Hinduja, FAU’s Distinguished Teacher of the Year.  Hinduja is currently an associate professor in the School of Criminology and Criminal Justice in the College for Design and Social Inquiry.  He is the co-director of the Cyberbullying Research Center, a member of the research advisory board for Harvard University's Internet Safety Task Force, and works nationally and internationally with schools, law enforcement, businesses, parents, and adolescents to reduce online victimization and its real-world consequences.

 “This is our fourth year hosting convocation, and in previous years, we had an excellent response from all involved,” said Dr. Edward Pratt, dean of undergraduate studies at FAU and coordinator of the event.  “This gives the students, faculty and staff an opportunity to meet each other before the year begins.”

For more information, contact Andrew LaPlant at 561-297-0884 or  

- FAU –

About Florida Atlantic University:

Florida Atlantic University opened its doors in 1964 as the fifth public university in Florida. Today, the University serves more than 28,000 undergraduate and graduate students on seven campuses and sites. Building on its rich tradition as a teaching university, with a world-class faculty, FAU hosts 10 colleges: the Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts & Letters, the College of Business, the College for Design and Social Inquiry, the College of  Education, the College of  Engineering & Computer Science, the Graduate College, the Harriet L. Wilkes Honors College, the Charles E. Schmidt College of Medicine, the Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing and the Charles E. Schmidt College of Science. For more information, visit .

Privacy Policy | University Regulations and Policies | Emergency Information | Get Help | Contact Us

An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution
© Copyright 2016. Florida Atlantic University.
Florida Atlantic University
 Last Modified 9/7/16