Media Relations

Press Release:

                                          MEDIA CONTACT:   Sherry Thomas

FAU’s Center for Autism and Related Disabilities Director Appointed to the Developmental Disabilities Compact Workgroup

BOCA RATON, FL (August 13, 2008) – Florida Atlantic University’s Center for Autism and Related Disabilities (CARD) director, Dr. Jack Scott, has been appointed to serve as a member of the Developmental Disabilities Compact Workgroup by Florida Senate President Ken Pruitt.   On May 20, 2008, Florida Governor Charlie Crist signed Senate Bill 2654 into law.   This legislation creates the “Window of Opportunity Act.”   Under this act, the Office of Insurance Regulation has been charged with convening a workgroup by the end of August 2008 to develop and put into place a compact relating to insurance coverage and access to services for persons with developmental disabilities.  

During the past legislative session, insurance coverage for autism intervention was an important issue.   Parents of children with autism and advocates presented information showing that skilled early intervention could, in many cases, result in dramatic improvements in behavior, socialization and overall school readiness.   However, most insurance plans provide little or no coverage in these areas.  

“It is great to see so much attention directed to children with autism and their families at this time,” said Scott.  “These children can make such impressive gains when the right intervention services and therapies are provided early in their lives.”

CARD is a state-supported center at FAU’s College of Education.   The center provides support for over 1,700 children and families in the FAU region with offices at Boca Raton and Port St. Lucie.   Scott specializes in autism intervention and problem behaviors for children with autism.  


Florida Atlantic University opened its doors in 1964 as the fifth public university in Florida. Today, the University serv es more than 26,000 undergraduate and graduate students on seven campuses strategically located along 150 miles of Florida's southeastern coastline. Building on its rich tradition as a teaching university, with a world-class faculty, FAU hosts ten colleges:  College of Architecture, Urban & Public Affairs, Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts & Letters, the Charles E. Schmidt College of Biomedical Science, the Barry Kaye College of Business, the College of  Education, the College of  Engineering & Computer Science, the Harriet L. Wilkes Honors College, the Graduate College,   the Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing and the Charles E. Schmidt College of Science.  

Privacy Policy | University Regulations and Policies | Emergency Information | Get Help | Contact Us

An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution
© Copyright 2016. Florida Atlantic University.
Florida Atlantic University
 Last Modified 9/7/16