Media Relations

Press Release:


FAU Announces Change to Two College Names

            BOCA RATON, FL (June 24, 2010) – Florida Atlantic University’s Board of Trustees recently approved the renaming of the Charles E. Schmidt College of Biomedical Science to the Charles E. Schmidt College of Medicine.

            “The renaming of the Charles E. Schmidt College of Medicine is another exciting step toward redefining FAU as an innovative medical institution,” said Dr. Michael Friedland, dean of the College.  “We give thanks to the Schmidt family for their commitment to FAU and to the College.”

            In May, Governor Charlie Crist signed legislation authorizing the establishment of the University’s independent medical education program based at FAU’s Boca Raton campus.  Student and residency training will be made available throughout hospitals in Palm Beach and Broward counties as a result of this program, addressing the shortage of physician trainees and doctors in the area.  In addition to offering the M.D. degree, FAU proposes to offer a dual M.D./ Ph.D. option in partnership with the Scripps Institute Kellogg School of Science and Technology, which would confer a doctorate degree. 

FAU also has approved the renaming of the College of Architecture, Urban and Public Affairs to the College for Design and Social Inquiry. 

As a unique configuration of professional programs addressing social justice, human services, design, and public policy in and for communities, the College and its faculty develop solutions through the collaboration of these diverse disciplines. 

“Our new name reflects what we do rather than emphasizing who we are,” said Dr. Rosalyn Carter, dean of the College. “We will continue to provide the highest quality of teaching, research and public service to address urban problems in South Florida and the nation.”


About Florida Atlantic University:

Florida Atlantic University opened its doors in 1964 as the fifth public university in Florida. Today, the University serves more than 28,000 undergraduate and graduate students on seven campuses and sites. Building on its rich tradition as a teaching university, with a world-class faculty, FAU hosts 10 colleges: Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts & Letters, the College of Business, the College for Design and Social Inquiry, the College of  Education, the College of  Engineering & Computer Science, the Graduate College, the Harriet L. Wilkes Honors College, the Charles E. Schmidt College of Medicine, the Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing and the Charles E. Schmidt College of Science. For more information, visit .

Privacy Policy | University Regulations and Policies | Emergency Information | Get Help | Contact Us

An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution
© Copyright 2016. Florida Atlantic University.
Florida Atlantic University
 Last Modified 9/7/16