Media Relations

Press Release:

MEDIA CONTACT:  Gisele Galoustian

                                       561-297-2010, or
Patsy Jones

Professor Sir Harold Kroto Presents at FAU’s Nobel Laureate Lecture

 BOCA RATON, FL (March 15, 2010) – Professor Sir Harold “Harry” Kroto, the 1996 recipient of the Nobel Prize for Chemistry, the Francis Eppes Professor in the department of chemistry and biochemistry at Florida State University, and an advisory board member of Florida Atlantic University’s department of chemistry and biochemistry, presented his multidisciplinary research in nanoscience and nanotechnology to a full auditorium at the recent “2010 Distinguished Nobel Laureate Lecture” at FAU.  This was an open event and attracted students, faculty, researchers and members of the public who were interested in learning more about Kroto’s co-discovery of the molecule that he named “buckminsterfullerene,” which is now known as the “buckyball.”

Kroto continues to investigate how his discovery has opened up an entirely new branch of chemistry, and the family of “Fullerene” carbon cage molecules has exceptional structural stability, electronic behavior and other intriguing properties which are now finding applications in solar cell and medical applications such as non-toxic Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI). On the horizon are possible applications ranging from civil engineering to advanced molecular electronics which promise to transform the socio-economics of everyday life.

“It was a remarkable day for Florida Atlantic University,” said Dr. Ramaswamy Narayanan, professor and chair of chemistry and biochemistry in the Charles E. Schmidt College of Science at FAU, as well as FAU’s assistant vice president for research, and chair of the 2010 Nobel Laureate Lecture.  “Many of our science graduate students had the opportunity to spend time with Dr. Kroto and receive his encouragement to pursue their interest and work in the sciences.”

Sponsors of the 2010 Distinguished Nobel Laureate Lecture included Pirtle Construction Company, the Charles E. Schmidt College of Science at FAU, as well as FAU’s Division of Research and department of electrical engineering and computer science within the College of Engineering and Computer Science.


About Florida Atlantic University:

Florida Atlantic University opened its doors in 1964 as the fifth public university in Florida. Today, the University serves more than 28,000 undergraduate and graduate students on seven campuses and sites. Building on its rich tradition as a teaching university, with a world-class faculty, FAU hosts 10 colleges:  College of Architecture, Urban & Public Affairs, Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts & Letters, the Charles E. Schmidt College of Biomedical Science, the College of Business, the College of  Education, the College of  Engineering & Computer Science, the Harriet L. Wilkes Honors College, the Graduate College, the Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing and the Charles E. Schmidt College of Science. For more information, visit .

Privacy Policy | University Regulations and Policies | Emergency Information | Get Help | Contact Us

An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution
© Copyright 2016. Florida Atlantic University.
Florida Atlantic University
 Last Modified 9/7/16