Media Relations

Press Release:


FAU’s Astronomical Observatory Celebrates the International Year of Astronomy with ‘100 Hours of Astronomy’ Event

BOCA RATON, FL (March 31, 2009) – Florida Atlantic University’s department of physics in the Charles E. Schmidt College of Science will host “100 Hours of Astronomy, as part of a worldwide astronomical event to promote appreciation and discovery of the universe.   The FAU event will take place on Thursday, April 2 beginning at 8 a.m. through Monday April 6 at noon in FAU’s Science and Engineering Building, fourth floor, 777 Glades Road, Boca Raton campus.   

FAU will provide an opportunity for members of FAU and the local community to look through a telescope at any time during the 100 hour event.  Faculty and students will be present throughout the event to answer questions and address comments from those attending.

This year marks the 400 th anniversary of the first recorded astronomical observations with a telescope by Galileo and is referred to as the “birth of modern science.”   Because of this, the 62 nd General Assembly of the United Nations adopted an Italian resolution to declare 2009 as the “International Year of Astronomy.”   The UN, together with the International Astronomical Union, is promoting “100 Hours of Astronomy” as a worldwide event to encourage people to look through a telescope and personally experience the message of the slogan, “The Universe, Yours to Discover.”

For more information, contact Eric Vandernoot at 561-297-STAR (7827) or visit


Florida Atlantic University opened its doors in 1964 as the fifth public university in Florida. Today, the University serves more than 26,000 undergraduate and graduate students on seven campuses strategically located along 150 miles of Florida's southeastern coastline. Building on its rich tradition as a teaching university, with a world-class faculty, FAU hosts ten colleges:  College of Architecture, Urban & Public Affairs, Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts & Letters, the Charles E. Schmidt College of Biomedical Science, the Barry Kaye College of Business, the College of  Education, the College of  Engineering & Computer Science, the Harriet L. Wilkes Honors College, the Graduate College,  the Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing and the Charles E. Schmidt College of Science.   

Privacy Policy | University Regulations and Policies | Emergency Information | Get Help | Contact Us

An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution
© Copyright 2016. Florida Atlantic University.
Florida Atlantic University
 Last Modified 9/7/16