Media Relations

Press Release:

MEDIA CONTACT:   Terry Gearing

FAU's Wilkes Honors College Announces its Seventh Annual Symposium for Research and Creative Projects

            JUPITER, FL (March 26, 2009) – Florida Atlantic University’s Wilkes Honors College will host its seventh annual Symposium for Research & Creative Projects on Friday, April 3, from 8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. at the John D. MacArthur Campus, 5353 Parkside Drive, Jupiter.  This year’s symposium includes the second installment of the Chastain Honors Symposium Lecture Series, featuring Dr. Hans J. Czap, professor of economics at St. Lawrence University, at 1 p.m. in the AD Auditorium.  Czap’s lecture is titled “The Economic Impact of Corruption.”

The annual symposium provides Honors College students the opportunity to showcase their thesis work through abstracts, posters and visual arts presentations.  The public is invited to view the symposium exhibits in the Honors College (HC) buildings throughout the day.

            Czap has been a member of the faculty at St. Lawrence University in New York since 2006. A specialist in international trade and development economics, Czap earned a Ph.D. in economics from the University of Nebraska, Lincoln, as well as Master of Science and Bachelor of Science degrees from the University of Trier in Germany.  

            The symposium and lecture are free and open to the public.  For more information, call 561-799-8579.


The Harriet L. Wilkes Honors College, located on FAU’s John D. MacArthur Campus, is a four-year residential liberal arts & science college for academically superior undergraduates.

Florida Atlantic University opened its doors in 1964 as the fifth public university in Florida. Today, the University serves more than 26,000 undergraduate and graduate students on seven campuses strategically located along 150 miles of Florida's southeastern coastline. Building on its rich tradition as a teaching university, with a world-class faculty, FAU hosts 10 colleges: College of Architecture, Urban & Public Affairs, Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts & Letters, the Charles E. Schmidt College of Biomedical Science, the Barry Kaye College of Business, the College of Education, the College of Engineering & Computer Science, the Harriet L. Wilkes Honors College, the Graduate College, the Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing and the Charles E. Schmidt College of Science.

Privacy Policy | University Regulations and Policies | Emergency Information | Get Help | Contact Us

An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution
© Copyright 2016. Florida Atlantic University.
Florida Atlantic University
 Last Modified 9/7/16