Media Relations

Press Release:


FAU’s Frontiers in Science Spring Lecture Series Presents ‘The Gulf Oil Spill: FAU Science at Work

            BOCA RATON, FL (January 5, 2011)
– Florida Atlantic University’s Charles E. Schmidt College of Science will kick off its 2011 Frontiers in Science spring public lecture series with “The Gulf Oil Spill: FAU Science at Work,” a presentation by a panel of FAU experts. The lecture will take place on Friday, January 7, beginning at 3:30 p.m. in room 126 of the Charles E. Schmidt Biomedical Science building, 777Glades Road, Boca Raton campus.

The FAU panel will discuss its participation and research in association with the Deepwater Horizon oil spill. Speakers will include Leonard Berry, Ph.D., director of the FAU-based Florida Center for Environmental Studies; Shirley Pomponi, Ph.D., executive director of the Cooperative Institute for Ocean Exploration, Research, and Technology at Harbor Branch at FAU; Tamara Frank, Ph.D., an associate research professor at Harbor Branch; and Dennis Hanisak, Ph.D., director of the Ocean Health Center at Harbor Branch.

For more information, contact Laura Millan at 561-297-2954 or


About Florida Atlantic University:

Florida Atlantic University opened its doors in 1964 as the fifth public university in Florida. Today, the University serves more than 28,000 undergraduate and graduate students on seven campuses and sites. Building on its rich tradition as a teaching university, with a world-class faculty, FAU hosts 10 colleges: the Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts & Letters, the College of Business, the College for Design and Social Inquiry, the College of  Education, the College of  Engineering & Computer Science, the Graduate College, the Harriet L. Wilkes Honors College, the Charles E. Schmidt College of Medicine, the Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing and the Charles E. Schmidt College of Science. For more information, visit .

Privacy Policy | University Regulations and Policies | Emergency Information | Get Help | Contact Us

An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution
© Copyright 2016. Florida Atlantic University.
Florida Atlantic University
 Last Modified 9/7/16