FAU

department of english

Faculty

The phone numbers listed below are extensions for calling within the university system. Use the following area codes and prefixes to call from outside the system:
Boca Raton campus (561) 297-
Davie campus (954) 236-
MacArthur (Jupiter) campus (561) 799-

Adams, Robert Don, Professor. Office: DW 303J. Phone: 6-1122. radams@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: 20th-century British and American Literature, Creative Writing, Poetry, Creative Non-Fiction

Barrios, Barclay, Associate Professor and Director of Writing Programs. Office: Boca Raton, CU 306J. Phone: 7-3838.  bbarrios@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: Composition and Rhetoric, Computers and Composition, Writing Program Administration, Technorhetoric

Berlatsky, Eric L., Associate Professor and Department Chair. Office:  Boca Raton, CU 306G. Phone 7-3831.  eberlats@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization:  20th-century British and Postcolonial Literatures, Victorian Literature, Modernism, Critical Theory, Experimental Fiction

Blakemore, Steven , Professor. Office: CU 315. Phone: 7-2122. sblakemo@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: 18th-century British and American Literature

Bradford, Adam, Assistant Professor. and Associate Chair Office: CU 306H. Phone: 7-2103. abradfo5@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: 18th- and 19th century American Literature and Culture


Bucak, A. Papatya , Associate Professor. Office: Boca Raton, CU 348. Phone: 7-2553. pbucak@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: Creative Writing, Fiction

Buckton, Oliver, Professor. Office: Boca Raton, CU 364. Phone: 7-3836. obuckton@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: 19th-century and 20th-century British Literature and Culture, Film, Gender Studies, Spy Fiction, Theory and Criticism

Dagbovie-Mullins, Sika, Associate Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies. Office:  Boca Raton, CU 323.
Phone: 7-1083.  sdagbovi@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization:  African-American Literature, Women's Studies, Theories of Race, Gender, and Ethnicity

Dalleo, Raphael, Associate Professor. Office: Boca Raton, CU 325. Phone: 7-3028. rdalleo@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: World Literatures, Caribbean Literature, Postcolonial Studies, Cultural Studies

Faraci, Mary, Professor. Office: Jupiter, SR 256. Phone: 6-8545. faraci@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: Linguistics and Medieval Literature

Furman, Andrew, Professor. Office: Boca Raton, CU 360. Phone: 7-3835. afurman@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: 20th-century American and Multi-ethnic Literature, Judaic Studies, Creative Writing, Fiction, Creative Non-fiction

Galin, Jeffrey , Associate Professor and Director of the University Center for Excellence in Writing. Office: Boca Raton, CU 350. Phone: 7-2152. jgalin@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: Composition, Literacy, Technology, and Intellectual Property

Golden, John, Assistant Professor. Office: Boca Raton, CU 332. Phone: 7-4469. jgolde21@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: Romanticism, 19th-Century British Poetry.

Hagood, Taylor, Associate Professor, Office: Boca Raton, CU 343. Phone: 7-2306. thagood@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: American Literature and Culture (Faulkner, African American, Southern) and Critical Theory

Hinshaw, Wendy, Assistant Professor. Office: Boca Raton, CU 338. Phone: 7-3418. whinshaw@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: Contemporary Rhetoric and Composition Theory, Feminist Theory, Literacy Studies, Prison Literature, and Service-Learning 

Jasin, Joanne , Instructor. Office: DW 303M. Phone: 7-1361. jjasin@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: Medieval Literature, Structure of English, Theory

Leeds, John C. , Associate Professor. Office: DW 303G. Phone: 6-1062. jleeds@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: English Renaissance Literature, Classics

Low, Jennifer, Associate Professor. Office: Boca Raton, CU 322. Phone: 7-2552. jlow@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: Renaissance Literature, Drama, Modern Poetry

Machado, Elena, Associate Professor. Office: Boca Raton, CU 346. Phone: 7-2047.  emachado@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: Caribbean Literatures, U.S. Latino Literature, Contemporary Drama

Mann, Regis , Assistant Professor. Office: Boca Raton, CU 349. Phone: 7-2176. mannr@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization:Nineteenth-Century American Literatures, Feminist Theory, and African American Literary and Cultural Studies.

Martin, Thomas , Associate Professor. Office: Boca Raton, CU 318. Phone: 7-2726. tmartin@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: Theory and criticism, Renaissance Literature

Mason, Julia , Assistant Professor. Office: Boca Raton, CU 339. Phone: 7-3833. jmason32@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: Rhetoric and Composition, Professional and Technical Writing, Posthuman Theory, Computers and Composition

McGuirk, Carol , Professor. Office: Boca Raton, CU 313. Phone: 7-3832. cmcguirk@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: 18th-century British Literature, Scottish Studies, Contemporary Fiction

McKay, Becka , Assistant Professor of Translation and Creative Writing and Director of Creative Writing. Office: DW 303L. Phone: 6-1482. rmckay3@fau.edu

Mitchell, Susan , Professor. Office: Boca Raton, CU 362. Phone: 7-3948. smitch21@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: Creative Writing, Poetry

Murtaugh, Dan , Associate Professor. Office: Boca Raton, CU 353. Phone: 7-3834. dmurtaug@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: Medieval and Renaissance British Literature

Schmitt, Kate , Assistant Professor of Creative Nonfiction. Office: CU 328. Phone: 7-2570. kschmit5@fau.edu    

Schwartz, Jason , Associate Professor. Office: Boca Raton, CU 357. Phone: 7-3837.   jschwart@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: Creative Writing, Fiction

Scroggins, Mark , Professor and Director of Graduate Studies. Office: Boca Raton, CU 357. Phone: 7-3561. mscroggi@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: 20th-century American Literature, Poetry, Modernism and Post-Modernism, Creative Writing
 
Stockard, Emily , Associate Professor. Office: DW 303B. Phone: 6-1118. stockard@fau.edu
Area of Specialization: English Renaissance

Swanstom, Elizabeth (Lisa), Assistant Professor. Office: Boca Raton. CU 330. Phone: 7-2793. lswanstr@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: Science Fiction, Fantasy and the Digital Humanities.

Ulin, Julieann, Assistant Professor of British and American Modernism. Office: Jupiter, SR 246. Phone: 6-8783. julin@fau.edu

Youngberg, Quentin , Assistant Professor. Office: Boca Raton, CU 341. Phone: 7-2907. qyoungbe@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: American Indian Literature, Latino Literature, Inter-American Literature

Instructors 

De Stefano, Kelly. Instructor of English. Office: CU 306B. Phone: 7-2974. kdestef@fau.edu  

Ferguson, A.J. Instructor of English. Office: CU 331. Phone: 7-3488. afergus8@fau.edu

Frost, Tiffany. Instructor of English. Office: TBA. tfrost3@fau.edu

Criscuolo, Melissa . Instructor of English. Office: CU 334. Phone: 7-2811. mgarc112@fau.edu

Curran, Julianne. Instructor of English. Office: CU 324. Phone: 7-1167. jcurran3@my.fau.edu 

Gifford, Sheryl. Instructor of English. Office: CU 358. Phone: 7-1375. sgifford@fau.edu


Gutting, Gabrielle. Instructor of English. Office: CU 344. Phone: 7-2344. ggutting@fau.edu

Hahn, Lynne. Instructor of English. Office: CU 351. Phone: 7-0074. lhahn@fau.edu 
 
Kelly, Warren Hill . Instructor of English. Office: CU 336. Phone: 7-2147. wkelly13@fau.edu

Marquart, Rosanne. Instructor of English. Office: CU 326. Phone: 7-2936. rmarquar@fau.edu

Moorhead, Kathleen. Instructor of English. Office: CU 350. Phone: 7-2344. kmoorhea@fau.edu

Potter, Richard . Instructor of English. Office: CU 342. Phone: 7-2932. rpotter@fau.edu   

Redman, Frederick. Instructor of English. Office: CU 327. Phone: 7-2178. fredman@fau.edu

Rooney, Scarlett. Instructor of English. Office: CU 352. Phone: 7-2440. srooney2@fau.edu

Sheffield, Mary . Instructor of English. Office: CU 306F. Phone: 7-2811. msheffi3@fau.edu

Sink, Suzanne. Instructor of English. Office: CU 336. Phone: 7-2147. ssink@fau.edu


Trewick, Lillith. Instructor of English. Office: CU 324. Phone: 7-1160. ltrewick@fau.edu

Vivian, J.D. Instructor of English. Office: CU 356. Phone: 7-2512. jvivian@fau.edu 

Waldron, Justin. Instructor of English. Office: TBA. jwaldro4@fau.edu


Affiliated Faculty

Berger, Alan L. , Raddock Eminent Scholar Chair for Holocaust Studies, Director, The Center for the Study of Values and Violence after Auschwitz. Office: Boca Raton, AH 118. Phone: 7-2979. aberger@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: Literature of the Holocaust, Modern Jewish Thought, Jewish Theology, Jewish American Literature

Shusterman, Richard, Dorothy F. Schmidt Eminent Scholar in the Humanities and Professor of Philosophy and English, Director, Florida Atlantic University Center for Body, Mind, and Culture. Office: Boca Raton, SO 124. Phone: 7-0851. shuster1@fau.edu
Areas of Specialization: American Philosophy, Aesthetics, Ethics and Political Theory, Philosophy of Language and Mind, Contemporary Continental Philosophy, Literary Criticism and Theory, Modernism and Postmodernism

For more information contact the Department of English administrative office at 297-3830 or at english@fau.edu
 Last Modified 7/1/14