

Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts and Letters

Department of Political Science 777 Glades Road

SO 44, Room 392

Boca Raton, Florida 33431-0991

tel: 561.297.3210 fax: 561.297.2997

MEMORANDUM OF UNDERSTANDING AS TO THE COMPOSITION OF THE FACUTY SENATE

To clarify ambiguities concerning the membership of the Faculty Senate, the Faculty Senate Steering Committee proposes the following policy to implement the existing bylaws.

- I. Article III, Section 2 of the FAU Senate Bylaws:
 - The faculty of each college will elect one member for each 20 faculty or major fraction, with the condition that any campus with 10 or more faculty from the college must have at least one of the members. For purposes of this section, the Library is considered a college.
- II. A "major fraction" shall mean 50% or at least 10 faculty into each set of 20.
 - a. For example: A College with 10-29 faculty would be allocated 1 Senator. A College with 30-49 faculty would be allocated 2 Senators
- III. Subject to college bylaws, a college assembly officers may be included as one or more of the college's allocated senators.
- IV. The number of Senators will be calculated once per year in January.
- V. The Office of the Provost shall provide a report to the Senate Steering Committee which includes a census of the faculty in each college along with a calculation of the college's representation prior to the January meeting of the Steering Committee.
- VI. Steering shall review the report for errors, and provide the report to the Senate for approval. The final allocation will be provided by the Senate to the College Assemblies by the end of February of each year.