Nominate the Distinguished Teacher of the Year! 

Deadline: February 23, 2015

Students are asked to submit nominations for the 2015 Distinguished Teacher of the Year Award, which will be awarded at the spring Honors Convocation ceremony on April 15, 2015. The Distinguished Teacher of the Year (DTOY) Award is the highest recognition of teaching at FAU. The recipient receives a cash award and delivers the keynote address at the Honors Convocation ceremony.

A student committee from each College will select one finalist from the College from among the nominees submitted. These nominees will then be reviewed by a University-wide committee made up of one student representative from each of the Colleges. Faculty will be evaluated on the basis of their scholarship, research and publications; classroom teaching; experience; academic counseling; concern and involvement in student activities; and University and community service.

To nominate a faculty member for this prestigious award, e-mail his or her name, College, and a statement of the reasons why this teacher deserves to be named Distinguished Teacher of the Year to no later than February 23, 2015.

In the subject line, please indicate the name of the COLLEGE in which your professor works. Nominations will then be forwarded to the appropriate College’s student committee.

Please note: Teachers must be tenure-earning or tenured professors. Administrators (except department chairs), past DTOY award recipients, and adjunct, instructors, or visiting faculty are not eligible for the award. If you have any further questions, please contact James Capp in the Office of the Provost at 561.297.3061.

Visit to see the list of winners of the Distinguished Teacher of the Year award.

Privacy Policy | University Regulations and Policies | Emergency Information | Get Help | Contact Us

An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution
© Copyright 2015. Florida Atlantic University.
Florida Atlantic University
 Last Modified 2/6/15