FAU PROFILE: Governance

Florida’s State University System, which includes the 11 state universities, is overseen by the Florida Board of Governors (BOG) — a 17-member board established to serve as the statewide governing body for the system. BOG members include 14 voting members appointed by the governor, as well as the Florida Commissioner of Education, the Chair of the Advisory Council of Faculty Senates and the president of the Florida Student Association.

Florida Atlantic University has a 13-member Board of Trustees, six of whom are appointed by the governor, five by the BOG; the student body president and the president of the University Faculty Senate also serve on the board. The gubernatorial and BOG appointees must be confirmed by the Florida Senate. Members of the Board of Trustees receive no compensation but may be reimbursed for travel and per diem expenses.

The Trustees are responsible for cost-effective policy decisions appropriate to the University's mission, the implementation and maintenance of high-quality education programs, the measurement of performance, the reporting of information and the provision of input regarding state policy, budgeting and education standards.

Jump to a section listed below:

History & OverviewMission, Values & Vision  • LocationAcademics
Research & Creative ScholarshipFacultyStudentsStaffFinances
Campuses & FacilitiesTechnologyStrategic PlanningDevelopment
AlumniCommunity EngagementAthleticsGovernance

Privacy Policy | University Regulations and Policies | Emergency Information | Get Help | Contact Us

An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution
© Copyright 2016. Florida Atlantic University.
Florida Atlantic University
 Last Modified 11/8/16