FAU has 1,090 faculty members. Nearly 700 are tenured or tenure-track. Of the full-time instructional faculty, 86 percent have terminal degrees. Fifty-five percent of faculty members are male, 45 percent female. Nearly three-quarters are White, eight percent are Asian, six percent are Hispanic and 5.5 percent are African-American.

By rank, 265 faculty are professors, 246 are associate professors, 204 are assistant professors and 180 are instructors/lecturers. The University also employs more than 500 adjunct faculty members.

Distinguished faculty are recognized each year through a number of honors and awards, including the Distinguished Teacher of the Year award (a student-determined award based on scholarship, research and publications, classroom teaching, academic counseling and University and community service), teaching awards in each college and researcher of the year awards. Among FAU faculty members are leaders in the fields of cyber-bullying, political science, accounting and commercial music. More than 300 members of the faculty participate in the University’s experts database, offering their expertise in specific fields to the news media and the general public.

The following individuals provide examples of stellar community service by FAU faculty members:

  • Dr. Timothy Steigenga, a political science professor in FAU’s Harriet L. Wilkes Honors College, has worked tirelessly for years to help empower the Guatemalan-Mayan immigrant community in Jupiter, Florida. His effective advocacy efforts led to the reactivation of Corn-Maya, a nonprofit organization that coordinates services to the immigrant community and acts as a liaison with local residents. He helped establish the Corn-Maya Community Center in Jupiter and recruited Honors College students to teach English there, affording them the opportunity to broaden their own horizons as they rendered a valuable service to others. Additionally, Dr. Steigenga organizes Fiesta Maya, a day-long celebration of Mayan culture that has become an annual event in Jupiter.

  • Dr. Deborah Raines, a professor in the Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing, is an expert in the care of newborns who generously shares her specialized knowledge with others in the nursing profession through extensive volunteer service. As a member of the Neonatal Skin Care Project of the Association of Women’s Health, Obstetrical and Neonatal Nurses, she helped develop new guidelines for improved infant skin care that have been put into widespread use throughout the United States and Canada. Her educational outreach activities include fielding questions on obstetrical and neonatal care through three different organizations, writing the “Ask the Expert” column in a nationally circulated nursing magazine and making presentations to local high school students about nursing as a career choice. In an effort to address the shortage of nurses, Dr. Raines created the Preceptor of Excellence program, which celebrates the contributions of mentors who are nurturing the next generation of nurses and provides professional development opportunities for them.

  • Dr. Edgar An, a professor of ocean engineering in the College of Engineering and Computer Science, conducts workshops and summer classes for high school students and their teachers, with the goal of increasing the math and science abilities of both groups. Since 2004, Dr. An has been giving them the opportunity to get hands-on experience in designing, building and testing model submarines, remotely operated vehicles, autonomous surface vehicles and cargo ships, using the sophisticated facilities available at FAU’s SeaTech center. The experience ends in a contest conducted in SeaTech’s pool that tests how well the various models function in real-world conditions. Students and teachers report overwhelmingly that Dr. An’s innovative approach to teaching math and science concepts increases their understanding of the principles involved and makes them want to learn more.

In addition, FAU currently has 17 Eminent Scholar Chairs, each endowed at $1 million or more:

  • Glenwood and Martha Creech Eminent Scholar Chair in Science

  • John M. DeGrove Eminent Scholar Chair
in Growth Management and Development

  • William F. Dietrich Eminent Scholar Chair 
in Philosophy

  • Kenan Evren Eminent Scholar Chair in 
Turkish Business Studies

  • Herbert and Elaine Gimelstob Eminent Scholar Chair in Judaic Studies

  • Christine E. Lynn Eminent Scholar 
Chair in Nursing

  • Eugene M. and Christine E. Lynn Eminent Scholar Chair in Business

  • John Thomas Ladue McGinty Eminent Scholar Chair in Biology

  • Dr. Robert J. Morrow Eminent Scholar 
Chair in Social Science

  • Charles Stewart Mott Eminent Scholar 
Chair in Community Education

  • Office Depot Eminent Scholar Chair
in Small Business Research

  • Helen Karpelenia Persson Eminent Scholar Chair in Community Caring

  • Raddock Eminent Scholar Chair 
in Holocaust Studies

  • Charles E. Schmidt Eminent Scholar 
Chair in Engineering

  • Dorothy F. Schmidt Eminent Scholar 
Chair in the Arts

  • Dorothy F. Schmidt Eminent Scholar 
Chair in Humanities

  • Dorothy F. Schmidt Eminent Scholar 
Chair in the Performing Arts

The FAU University Faculty Senate is a representative governance body for faculty. It is concerned with matters of general University educational policy, including curriculum, academic calendar and schedule, admissions, registration and degree programs. It may also consider and provide advice to the University President and others on University-wide issues of general faculty concern. All full-time, tenure-track faculty and librarians with professional status are eligible to serve in the Senate. Members are elected through their colleges or their campus Senates. There are 53 elected members of the Senate plus the chairs of the standing committees. The UFS meets monthly during the academic year. Meetings are open to all interested individuals.

Continue to next section...

Or jump to a section listed below:

History & OverviewMission, Values & Vision  • LocationAcademics
Research & Creative ScholarshipFacultyStudentsStaffFinances
Campuses & FacilitiesTechnologyStrategic PlanningDevelopment
AlumniCommunity EngagementAthleticsGovernance

Privacy Policy | University Regulations and Policies | Emergency Information | Get Help | Contact Us

An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution
© Copyright 2016. Florida Atlantic University.
Florida Atlantic University
 Last Modified 11/8/16