Media Relations

Press Release:

MEDIA CONTACT: Christine Dardet, APR

FAU Professor Receives Health Resources and Services Administration Grant to Develop Next Generation of Nurse Leaders

BOCA RATON, FL (August 4, 2011) – The Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing at Florida Atlantic University announced that Rose O. Sherman, Ed.D., R.N., N.E.A.-B.C., C.N.L., F.A.A.N., has received a grant from the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA). Sherman is an associate professor and director of the Nursing Leadership Institute at FAU.

The grant was awarded to Sherman and co-project leader Susan Dyess, Ph.D., R.N., for a three-year study titled “Succession Planning for the Future: A Nursing Administration Master’s Degree for Emerging Leaders.” The total amount awarded for this study is $827,000.

“Healthcare agencies in South Florida and the Treasure Coast anticipate the exodus of fifty percent of their current nurse leaders in the next decade,” said Sherman. “This grant will further enable us to focus on the development of nurses early in their careers who are interested in a nursing leadership career path.”

Through the Nursing Leadership Institute, Sherman and Dyess collaborate with hospitals and healthcare agencies throughout South Florida and the Treasure Coast to identify nurses for the College of Nursing master’s degree Nursing Administration Specialty Emerging Leaders track. Upon graduation, these nurses are prepared to assume roles, such as chief nursing officer or nurse manager, when existing leaders retire.

“Awarding this HRSA grant demonstrates that the federal government recognizes the critical importance of preparing the next generation of nursing leadership,” said Marlaine Smith, R.N., Ph.D., A.H.N.-B.C., F.A.A.N., dean of the College and Helen K. Persson Eminent Scholar. “This proposed program will address the anticipated nursing leadership shortage. We commend Drs. Sherman and Dyess for their vision and dedication to developing solutions to address this challenge before it becomes a crisis.”

For more information, visit


Florida Atlantic University, established in 1961, officially opened its doors in 1964 as the fifth public university in Florida. In commemoration of its origin, FAU is celebrating its 50th anniversary throughout 2011. Today, the University serves more than 28,000 undergraduate and graduate students on seven campuses and sites. FAU’s world-class teaching and research faculty serves students through 10 colleges: the Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts & Letters, the College of Business, the College for Design and Social Inquiry, the College of Education, the College of Engineering & Computer Science, the Graduate College, the Harriet L. Wilkes Honors College, the Charles E. Schmidt College of Medicine, the Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing and the Charles E. Schmidt College of Science. FAU is ranked as a High Research Activity institution by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching. For more information, visit

Privacy Policy | University Regulations and Policies | Emergency Information | Get Help | Contact Us

An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution
© Copyright 2016. Florida Atlantic University.
Boca Raton Campus Danie Beach Campus Davie Campus Fort Lauderdale Campus Harbor Branch Campus Jupiter Campus Treasure Campus
 Last Modified 9/7/16