Media Relations

Press Release:

MEDIA CONTACT: Kristine Gobbo

FAU Science Eminent Scholar Receives Prestigious International Award

BOCA RATON, FL (July 28, 2011) – Scott Kelso, Ph.D., Glenwood and Martha Creech Eminent Scholar Chair in Science and founder of the Charles E. Schmidt College of Science’s Center for Complex Systems and Brain Sciences at Florida Atlantic University, has recently received the Bernstein Prize, the highest award of the International Society of Motor Control (ISMC) for his life’s work in the area of brain science.

“This is well-deserved international recognition of Dr. Kelso’s research and contributions to the field of brain science,” said Gary Perry, Ph.D., dean of the Charles E. Schmidt College of Science at FAU. “The Bernstein Prize is the highest honor, and Dr. Kelso will only continue to excel in his field.”

The Bernstein Prize is awarded biennially to an individual who has made exceptional contributions to the development of the area of motor control and how the brain coordinates movement. Kelso and his colleagues’ seminal work in this field was published in the journal Science in 1979 and 1988, and the journal Nature in 1998, as well as other prominent journals in the fields of neuroscience, physics, biology and psychology, and continues to the present day.

“I am deeply honored and humbled to receive the Bernstein Prize, named after a person who is held in such high esteem. At the same time, I am grateful to all my teachers and professors for inspiring me to work in this scientific field and to all my students and colleagues for their genius, talent and labor without which this award would never have been possible,” said Kelso. “What is at stake now is that we all work together to understand the ‘neural choreography’ of the brain, both the ‘dancers’ and the ‘dance,’ and how the dance is disrupted by the many brain diseases that afflict society and are such a drain on our welfare and economy. This is the ultimate challenge — understanding how the brain is coordinated.”

Kelso is a fellow of the American Psychological Association, the Association for Psychological Science and the American Association for the Advancement of Science. He has earned many awards for his work, including most recently the Pierre de Fermat Laureate in 2007. His team’s research has received continuous federal funding since coming to FAU in 1985, and is currently supported by National Institutes for Health, the National Science Foundation and the U.S. Office of Naval Research.

For more information, contact Kristine Gobbo at 561-297-1168 or


Florida Atlantic University, established in 1961, officially opened its doors in 1964 as the fifth public university in Florida. In commemoration of its origin, FAU is celebrating its 50th anniversary throughout 2011. Today, the University serves more than 28,000 undergraduate and graduate students on seven campuses and sites. FAU’s world-class teaching and research faculty serves students through 10 colleges: the Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts & Letters, the College of Business, the College for Design and Social Inquiry, the College of Education, the College of Engineering & Computer Science, the Graduate College, the Harriet L. Wilkes Honors College, the Charles E. Schmidt College of Medicine, the Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing and the Charles E. Schmidt College of Science. FAU is ranked as a High Research Activity institution by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching. For more information, visit

Privacy Policy | University Regulations and Policies | Emergency Information | Get Help | Contact Us

An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution
© Copyright 2016. Florida Atlantic University.
Boca Raton Campus Danie Beach Campus Davie Campus Fort Lauderdale Campus Harbor Branch Campus Jupiter Campus Treasure Campus
 Last Modified 9/7/16