Media Relations

Press Release:


FAU Foundation Board Elects Bruce Allen as Chair

Four New Members Join Board

BOCA RATON, Fla. (June 19, 2013) – The Florida Atlantic University Foundation Board recently held its annual meeting and election of officers. Bruce Allen ’71 was elected as the Board’s new chair, taking over for Randy Justice ’73, who has served as chair since 2011. Jay Weinberg was elected vice chair and Brett Greenberg was elected secretary. Former secretary Patricia McKay ’78 was elected treasurer.  

Bruce Allen joined the Foundation Board in 2007 and previously served as vice chair. He is a senior vice president at U.S. Trust. Allen is a member of the Parliament of OWLs, FAU’s honorary leadership society for alumni, and has served a record three terms as chair of the FAU Alumni Association Board of Directors. He was inducted into the Alumni Hall of Fame in 1986 and received the 2007 Alumni Talon Award. 

“I am both delighted and humbled to be selected to serve as the FAU Foundation Board Chair,” said Allen. “With the support of both our alumni and our community, we will press on toward the goal of making Florida Atlantic one of the most admired universities in America.”

The Board also welcomes four new members, noted for their civic service and professional accomplishments.

Andrew Clark, Ph.D., ’80, ’83, is founder and president of Cyprus Seismic Network, LLC, where he specializes in the design, deployment and operation of subsea and seaborne systems for research, government and industrial applications. Previously, he was founder and CEO of Maritime Communication Systems, now CapRock, a $500-million-subsidiary of HARRIS Corporation; and research and development director of Harbor Branch Oceanographic Institution. Clark is a representative of the National Committee to the UNESCO Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission, trustee of Florida Institute of Technology and the Link Foundation, and member of the FAU College of Engineering and Computer Science Industry Advisory Council. He received bachelor’s and master’s degrees in ocean engineering from FAU, and was named the 2004 Distinguished Alumnus for the College of Engineering and Computer Science.

Lewis Long is vice president of marketing communications for ADT Security Services. He has a track record of managing mega-consumer brands, including Cover Girl Cosmetics, Verizon FiOS and the ADT Pulse home automation product. During his service as a White House Fellow in the Office of Management and Budget, he created economic development policy initiatives that helped his hometown of Washington, D.C. lead the nation in urban property value, revenue and population growth. Long received a bachelor’s degree in finance from Howard University and an M.B.A. from Harvard Business School. He spends his leisure time supporting the arts and leading a youth entrepreneurship program.

Mary Beth McDonald ’74 is an FAU TV pioneer. She helped create WING-TV, which paved the way for campus television at FAU. After a career in communications that spanned more than 25 years, she was elected mayor of Vero Beach and served from 2004 to 2006. In 2010 she opened her own advertising agency, One Source Media and Marketing, which has received numerous awards. McDonald is vice president of the Taxpayers’ Association of Indian River County, a member of FAU’s Advisory Board, and has been instrumental in establishing an FAU alumni group in the Indian River area. She was recently named the 2013 Distinguished Alumna for the Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts and Letters.

Phil Smith ’69 is president and chief executive officer of Phil Smith Management, Inc., which operates 14 automobile dealerships in Florida, Georgia and North Carolina; and the Coral Ridge Country Club. He has more than 30 years of experience managing auto dealerships and built his organization from the ground up, winning numerous awards for business leadership along the way. A native South Floridian, Smith received a degree in finance from FAU. He and his wife, Susan, give back to the community through the Humane Society of Broward County, Cystic Fibrosis Foundation, American Cancer Society, Holy Cross Hospital, Northwood University, Nova Southeastern University, Orange Bowl Committee and Junior Achievement.

For more information about the FAU Foundation, visit .



Florida Atlantic University, established in 1961, officially opened its doors in 1964 as the fifth public university in Florida. Today, the University, with an annual economic impact of $6.3 billion, serves more than 30,000 undergraduate and graduate students at sites throughout its six-county service region in southeast Florida. FAU’s world-class teaching and research faculty serves students through 10 colleges: the Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts and Letters, the College of Business, the College for Design and Social Inquiry, the College of Education, the College of Engineering and Computer Science, the Graduate College, the Harriet L. Wilkes Honors College, the Charles E. Schmidt College of Medicine, the Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing and the Charles E. Schmidt College of Science. FAU is ranked as a High Research Activity institution by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching. The University is placing special focus on the rapid development of three signature themes – marine and coastal issues, biotechnology and contemporary societal challenges – which provide opportunities for faculty and students to build upon FAU’s existing strengths in research and scholarship. For more information, visit

Privacy Policy | University Regulations and Policies | Emergency Information | Get Help | Contact Us

An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution
© Copyright 2016. Florida Atlantic University.
Boca Raton Campus Danie Beach Campus Davie Campus Fort Lauderdale Campus Harbor Branch Campus Jupiter Campus Treasure Campus
 Last Modified 9/7/16