Media Relations

Press Release:


FAU Distinguished Research Professor Elected as a Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers

BOCA RATON, FL (June 24, 2011) – Isaac Elishakoff, Ph.D., a distinguished professor in the College of Engineering and Computer Science at Florida Atlantic University has been elected to the grade of Fellow at ASME, the premier organization for promoting the art, science and practice, of mechanical and multidisciplinary engineering and allied sciences to diverse communities throughout the world.

Elishakoff is an internationally distinguished leader in several fields of theoretical and applied mechanics, including elastic stability, random vibrations, convex modeling of uncertainty, structural reliability, functionally graded structures and nanotechnology. He has made seminal contributions to these branches of engineering, and is an author or co-author of 10 highly acclaimed monographs published by companies such as Cambridge UP, Oxford UP, Imperial CP and ASME Press. He is also an editor or co-editor of 12 books, and authored or co-authored more than 370 papers in leading scientific journals worldwide.

Elishakoff has the distinction of being chosen as one of 3,109 Fellows out of 103,224 members. Four other ASME Fellows from FAU’s College of Engineering and Computer Science include: Karl Stevens, Ph.D., former dean of the College of Engineering and Computer Science; Leif Carlsson, Ph.D., professor in the department of ocean and mechanical engineering; Hassan Mahfuz, Ph.D., professor in the department of ocean and mechanical engineering; and Sue Skemp, executive director of the Southeast National Marine Renewable Energy Center at FAU.

The ASME Board of Governors confers the Fellow grade of membership on worthy candidates to recognize their outstanding engineering achievements. Nominated by their peers, ASME Fellows have had 10 or more years of active practice and at least 10 years of continuous active corporate membership in ASME.

For more information, contact Marc Kozlin at 561-297-1399 or


About Florida Atlantic University:
Florida Atlantic University, established in 1961, officially opened its doors in 1964 as the fifth public university in Florida. In commemoration of its origin, FAU is celebrating its 50th anniversary throughout 2011. Today, the University serves more than 28,000 undergraduate and graduate students on seven campuses and sites. FAU’s world-class teaching and research faculty serves students through 10 colleges: the Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts & Letters, the College of Business, the College for Design and Social Inquiry, the College of Education, the College of Engineering & Computer Science, the Graduate College, the Harriet L. Wilkes Honors College, the Charles E. Schmidt College of Medicine, the Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing and the Charles E. Schmidt College of Science. FAU is ranked as a High Research Activity institution by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching. For more information, visit

Privacy Policy | University Regulations and Policies | Emergency Information | Get Help | Contact Us

An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution
© Copyright 2016. Florida Atlantic University.
Boca Raton Campus Danie Beach Campus Davie Campus Fort Lauderdale Campus Harbor Branch Campus Jupiter Campus Treasure Campus
 Last Modified 8/26/12