Media Relations

Press Release:


FAU’s College of Business Honors Keith Koenig with 2009 Business Leader of the Year Award

BOCA RATON, FL (December 9, 2009) – Florida Atlantic University’s College of Business recently hosted the 2009 Business Leader of the Year annual awards breakfast at the Boca Raton Resort & Club, celebrating the accomplishments of Keith Koenig, president and owner of City Furniture.

“We are thrilled to honor Keith Koenig as the Business Leader of the Year,” said Dr. Dennis J. Coates, dean of FAU’s College of Business. “His contributions to the community are immeasurable, and his story of success and leadership is inspirational.”

            The Business Leader of the Year award celebrates the accomplishments of business leaders and their ongoing legacy in improving the overall environment of businesses. According to FAU, Koenig met the criteria of this award as he clearly demonstrated the idealized characteristics of a strong leader, through his management style and overall support of economic development initiatives.

            City Furniture, which evolved from its predecessor Waterbed City in 1994, was co-founded by Koenig and his brother, Kevin, who opened the first Waterbed City in 1971.  Under their management team’s leadership, City Furniture has since evolved into a $200 million dollar enterprise with 16 showrooms in Miami-Dade, Broward, Palm Beach, Martin, Collier and Lee counties.  The company also owns and operates eight Ashley Furniture HomeStores in the same geographic area, as well as Kevin Charles Fine Upholstery, a wholly-owned subsidiary of City Furniture, and a 900,000-square-foot headquarters and distribution facility in Tamarac.

Koenig holds a B.A. in business administration and an M.B.A. from the University of Florida. He was inducted into Nova Southeastern University’s Entrepreneur Hall of Fame in 2001, and also was recognized in 2001-2002 with the FURNITURE/Today “Retailer of the Year” award and Ernst & Young’s “Entrepreneur of the Year” retail award for Florida in 2003.  

Koenig also is well-known for philanthropic contributions and endeavors, including those with Covenant House Florida, Holy Cross Hospital, the Fort Lauderdale Museum of Discovery & Science, Habitat for Humanity, the University of Florida’s Warrington College of Business Administration and the Archdiocese of Miami.  He has received a number of awards for his charitable-giving, including the “Philanthropic Company of the Year” award for Broward and Dade counties in 2004, the “Spirit of Life” award from the City of Hope in 2004, and the Anti-Defamation League’s American Heritage Award in 2002.  Koenig also received the Papal Order of Knight of St. Gregory by Pope John Paul II.

A tribute video and a multimedia presentation also highlighted Koenig’s character and accomplishments. Other program speakers included FAU Interim President John Pritchett and FAU Board of Trustees member Armand Grossman. The program’s master of ceremonies was Nancy Blosser, chair of FAU’s Board.

            Other attendees included previous Business Leader of the Year recipients Wayne Huizenga and Mark Templeton, as well as Michael Kauffman, FAU Foundation Board chair; Gloria Branch, chair of the FAU National Alumni Association; Susan Whelchel, mayor of the City of Boca Raton; Constance Scott, Boca Raton city council member; Anthony Majhess, Boca Raton city council member; and Michael Mullaugh, Boca Raton city council member.


About Florida Atlantic University:

Florida Atlantic University opened its doors in 1964 as the fifth public university in Florida. Today, the University serves more than 28,000 undergraduate and graduate students on seven campuses. Building on its rich tradition as a teaching university, with a world-class faculty, FAU hosts 10 colleges: College of Architecture, Urban & Public Affairs, Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts & Letters, the Charles E. Schmidt College of Biomedical Science, the College of Business, the College of Education, the College of Engineering & Computer Science, the Harriet L. Wilkes Honors College, the Graduate College, the Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing and the Charles E. Schmidt College of Science.

Privacy Policy | University Regulations and Policies | Emergency Information | Get Help | Contact Us

An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution
© Copyright 2016. Florida Atlantic University.
Florida Atlantic University
 Last Modified 9/7/16