Media Relations

Press Release:

MEDIA CONTACT: Christina Zimmerman



FAU’s Harbor Branch Oceanographic Institution Foundation Elects Members

BOCA RATON, FL (November 30, 2009) – Jim Seitz, chairman of the Harbor Branch Oceanographic Institution Foundation, Inc. Board of Directors, recently announced the election of four new board members at the annual fall meeting held at Florida Atlantic University’s Harbor Branch Oceanographic Institute (HBOI). Elected to two year terms were William Barrows, Pam Houghten and Karl Steene, all of Vero Beach, and Michael Minton of Ft. Pierce.

The Foundation is an affiliated support organization for FAU’s HBOI. The purpose of the Foundation is to garner private support for the programs and activities of Harbor Branch.

Barrows is a retired executive from Fusite Corporation International Operations and has been associated with HBOI for many years, including as a long-time member of the Friends of Harbor Branch programs. Locally, he has served as president of the Anchor Property Owners’ Association, is a member of the Moorings Club and is a supporter of the Environmental Learning Center. Barrows is a graduate of the University of Cincinnati.

Houghten is the director of education & community outreach for Torrey Pines Institute for Molecular Studies, Port St. Lucie. She is currently the president of the St. Lucie County Education Foundation, member of the Workforce Development Board of the Treasure Coast and board member of the St. Lucie County Chamber of Commerce. Houghten is a graduate of MiraCosta College, University of Texas at Tyler and Tyler Junior College.

Steene is past director of community relations for RBC Bank, director of marketing at Riverside Bank, and has worked for Provident Bank, Coral Gables Federal, Citi Bank and First Union. He was named the 2007 Cultural Council of Vero Beach Philanthropist of the Year, 2008-09 District 6930 Rotarian of the Year, Assistant District Rotary Governor and currently serves as the president of the Oceanside Rotary Club. Steene is a graduate of FAU.

Minton is president of a commercial law firm, Dean Mead. He is the past vice chairman of the Governing Board for the South Florida Water Management District. Minton was awarded special merit by the Tax Section of the Florida Bar in 2009, named to Florida Trend magazine’s annual “Legal Elite” list, and has received outstanding tax attorney citations from Chambers USA America’s Leading Lawyers for Business: The Client’s Guide, The Best Lawyers in America and Florida Super Lawyers magazine. He is a graduate of the University of Florida College of Law and the University of Florida.

            Officers of the board for 2009-2010 are James L. Seitz, chairman; William J. Stewart, secretary, and John McConnell, treasurer. Other board members include John B. Dodge, C. Amos Bussman, Joseph Duke, Dr. John V. Byrne,Marilyn Link,and Sherry Plymale.

- FAU -

About Florida Atlantic University:

Florida Atlantic University opened its doors in 1964 as the fifth public university in Florida. Today, the University serves more than 28,000 undergraduate and graduate students on seven campuses. Building on its rich tradition as a teaching university, with a world-class faculty, FAU hosts ten colleges:  College of Architecture, Urban & Public Affairs, Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts & Letters, the Charles E. Schmidt College of Biomedical Science, the College of Business, the College of Education, the College of Engineering & Computer Science, the Harriet L. Wilkes Honors College, the Graduate College, the Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing and the Charles E. Schmidt College of Science.  

Privacy Policy | University Regulations and Policies | Emergency Information | Get Help | Contact Us

An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution
© Copyright 2016. Florida Atlantic University.
Florida Atlantic University
 Last Modified 9/7/16