Media Relations

Press Release:

                                    MEDIA CONTACT: Patsy Jones

FAU’s Frontiers in Science Fall Lecture Series Presents ‘The Future of Spacetime: The Uncertain Role of Einstein’s Deepest Insight in 21 st Century Physics’

BOCA RATON , FL (November 14, 2008) – Florida Atlantic University’s Charles E. Schmidt College of Science will conclude its 2008 Fall Frontiers in Science public lecture series with a presentation by Dr. Christopher Beetle, assistant professor of physics in the College’s department of physics.   Beetle will discuss “The Future of Spacetime: The Uncertain Role of Einstein’s Deepest Insight in 21 st Century Physics.”   The lecture will take place on Friday, November 21 at 3:30 p.m. in FAU’s General Classroom North building, Room 101, 777 Glades Road, Boca Raton campus.

In his presentation, Beetle will focus on the question about concerns of the proper role of time in fundamental theories of physics.   He will try to clarify why there is a deep-rooted tension between quantum theory and general relativity and why it matters in the different roles of time in the two theories.

This lecture is free and open to the public, and is sponsored by the Charles E. Schmidt College of Science and supported by FAU’s Lifelong Learning Society Endowed Professorship.

             The reception that follows the program is made possible by the Warren Lloyd Holtzman Seed Grant, a component of the Community Foundation of the New River Valley.

For more information, contact Patsy Jones at 561-297-1307 or


Florida Atlantic University opened its doors in 1964 as the fifth public university in Florida. Today, the University serves more than 26,000 undergraduate and graduate students on seven campuses strategically located along 150 miles of Florida's southeastern coastline. Building on its rich tradition as a teaching university, with a world-class faculty, FAU hosts ten colleges:  College of Architecture, Urban & Public Affairs, Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts & Letters, the Charles E. Schmidt College of Biomedical Science, the Barry Kaye College of Business, the College of  Education, the College of  Engineering & Computer Science, the Harriet L. Wilkes Honors College, the Graduate College,  the Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing and the Charles E. Schmidt College of Science.   

Privacy Policy | University Regulations and Policies | Emergency Information | Get Help | Contact Us

An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution
© Copyright 2016. Florida Atlantic University.
Florida Atlantic University
 Last Modified 9/7/16