Media Relations

Press Release:



FAU and Harbor Branch to Celebrate Union

            FORT PIERCE, FL (November 27, 2007) - Florida Atlantic University and Harbor Branch Oceanographic Institution (HBOI) officials will celebrate the union of the two institutions and thank supporters on Wednesday, November 28 from 3 to 5 p.m. at HBOI, 5600 U.S. 1 North, Fort Pierce.  Florida State Representative Gayle Harrell, Commissioner Joseph Smith of St. Lucie County, Mayor Robert J. Benton of the City of Fort Pierce and Mayor William G. Thiess of the Town of St. Lucie Village will present signed proclamations in support of the union. Other officials in attendance will include Florida Senate President Ken Pruitt, FAU President Frank T. Brogan, HBOI President and CEO Dr. Shirley Pomoponi, FAU Board of Trustees Chairman Norman Tripp, HBOI Board Chairman Admiral Paul Yost and FAU Provost Dr. John Pritchett.

Through the support of the Treasure Coast Legislative Delegation and the local community, FAU received state appropriations in 2007 for the partnership expansion with HBOI.


Florida Atlantic University opened its doors in 1964 as the fifth public university in Florida. Today, the University serv es more than 26,000 undergraduate and graduate students on seven campuses strategically located along 150 miles of Florida's southeastern coastline. Building on its rich tradition as a teaching university, with a world-class faculty, FAU hosts nine colleges:  College of Architecture, Urban & Public Affairs, Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts & Letters, the Charles E. Schmidt College of Biomedical Science, the Barry Kaye College of Business, the College of  Education, the College of  Engineering & Computer Science, the Harriet L. Wilkes Honors College, the Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing and the Charles E. Schmidt College of Science.  

Privacy Policy | University Regulations and Policies | Emergency Information | Get Help | Contact Us

An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution
© Copyright 2016. Florida Atlantic University.
Florida Atlantic University
 Last Modified 8/26/12