Media Relations

Press Release:


FAU’s College of Business Honors Keith Koenig with 2009 Business Leader of the Year Award


BOCA RATON, FL (October 29, 2009) – Florida Atlantic University’s College of Business will host the 2009 Business Leader of the Year annual awards breakfast at the Boca Raton Resort & Club on Thursday, November 5 at 8 a.m. This year’s program celebrates the accomplishments of Keith Koenig, president and owner of City Furniture.

“We are thrilled to honor Keith Koenig as the Business Leader of the Year,” said Dr. Dennis J. Coates, dean of FAU’s College of Business. “His contributions to the community are immeasurable and his story of success and leadership is inspirational.”

            The Business Leader of the Year award celebrates the accomplishments of business leaders and their ongoing legacy in improving the overall environment of businesses. According to FAU, Koenig meets the criteria of this award as he clearly demonstrates the idealized characteristics of a strong leader, through his management style and overall support of economic development initiatives.

            City Furniture, which evolved from its predecessor Waterbed City in 1994, was co-founded by Koenig and his brother, Kevin, who opened the first Waterbed City in 1971.  Under their management team’s leadership, City Furniture has since evolved into a $200 million dollar enterprise with 16 showrooms in Miami-Dade, Broward, Palm Beach, Martin, Collier, and Lee counties.  The company also owns and operates eight Ashley Furniture HomeStores in the same geographic area, as well as Kevin Charles Fine Upholstery, a wholly-owned subsidiary of City Furniture, and a 900,000-square-foot headquarters and distribution facility in Tamarac.

Koenig holds a B.A. in business administration and an M.B.A. from the University of Florida. He was inducted into Nova Southeastern University’s Entrepreneur Hall of Fame in 2001, and also was recognized in 2001-2002 with the FURNITURE/Today “Retailer of the Year” award and Ernst & Young’s “Entrepreneur of the Year” retail award for Florida in 2003.  

Koenig also is well-known for philanthropic contributions and endeavors, including those with Covenant House Florida, Holy Cross Hospital, the Fort Lauderdale Museum of Discovery & Science, Habitat for Humanity, the University of Florida’s Warrington College of Business Administration and the Archdiocese of Miami.  He has received a number of awards for his charitable-giving, including the “Philanthropic Company of the Year” award for Broward and Dade counties in 2004, the “Spirit of Life” award from the City of Hope in 2004, and the Anti-Defamation League’s American Heritage Award in 2002.  He also received the Papal Order of Knight of St. Gregory by Pope John Paul II.

A tribute video and a multimedia presentation will highlight Koenig’s character and accomplishments. Other program speakers include FAU Interim President John Pritchett and FAU Board of Trustees member Armand Grossman. The program’s master of ceremonies will be Nancy Blosser, chair of the Board.

             Since 1991, FAU’s College of Business has presented the Business Leader of the Year award program, honoring the work of outstanding contributors to the overall business climate of the southeast region of Florida and the state.  Koenig joins other highly-honored recipients of the award, including Mark B. Templeton, Ronald Assaf, Alexander Dreyfoos, Jim Moran, Wayne Huizenga, Carl DeSantis, Bud Paxson, Jerry Levin, Pat Moran, former Gov. Jeb Bush, Alan Levan, Steve Odland and others.

             Underwriters, sponsors and co-sponsors partnered with FAU’s College of Business to assist in hosting the award program. The presenting sponsor of the program is BankAtlantic.  Major underwriters include AutoNation, City Furniture, Huizenga Holdings, Inc., and Northwestern Mutual Financial Network – The Striano Group.

Other program sponsors include Serta Mattress Company, the South Florida Sun-Sentinel, Barber & Associates, LLC, Citrix Systems, Gold Coast Venture Capital Association, JM Family Enterprises, Rick Case Automotive Group, Sealy, Inc., Seitlin Insurance, and Spherion, Angelo & Banta, P.A., Bank of America, Bernstein Global Wealth Management, City National Bank, Miller Construction Company, Morgan Property Group, NCCI Holdings, Inc., Office Depot, QMED Corporation, Stiles Corporation, and Wachovia.

Additional support was provided by Eugene Miller, MAPEI Corporation, FAU’s Adams Center for Entrepreneurship, Boca Raton Resort & Club, Daszkal Bolton LLP, Ellis Diversified Inc., FAU Student Government, Foundation Solutions, LLC, Goldstein Lewin & Co., the Greater Boca Raton Chamber of Commerce, Halmos Holdings, Inc., James A. Cummings, Inc., Medical Mobile Monitoring, the Fort Lauderdale Museum of Discovery and Science, Rutherford Mulhall, P.A., and W. Mack & Associates.

 For more information, contact Kimberly Gramm at 561-297-3628 or .  


About Florida Atlantic University:

Florida Atlantic University opened its doors in 1964 as the fifth public university in Florida. Today, the University serves more than 28,000 undergraduate and graduate students on seven campuses.Building on its rich tradition as a teaching university, with a world-class faculty, FAU hosts 10 colleges: College of Architecture, Urban & Public Affairs, Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts & Letters, the Charles E. Schmidt College of Biomedical Science, the College of Business, the College of Education, the College of Engineering & Computer Science, the Harriet L. Wilkes Honors College, the Graduate College, the Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing and the Charles E. Schmidt College of Science.

Privacy Policy | University Regulations and Policies | Emergency Information | Get Help | Contact Us

An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution
© Copyright 2016. Florida Atlantic University.
Florida Atlantic University
 Last Modified 9/7/16