Media Relations

Press Release:

MEDIA CONTACT: Kristine Gobbo

Florida Board of Governors Approves FAU Medical Education Program

                BOCA RATON, FL (April 7, 2010) – The Florida Board of Governors (BOG) unanimously approved the establishment of FAU’s independent medical education program today.  The doctor of medicine program was approved by FAU’s Board of Trustees in February 2010, as well as by two BOG committees prior to obtaining approval by the BOG’s full board.

            “Today is an exciting day for Florida Atlantic University,” said John Pritchett, FAU’s interim president.  “FAU’s medical education program has a strong foundation and will continue to position itself as a leader in state-of-the art medical education and groundbreaking research.”

            The new FAU medical education program will employ a unique Continuity Medicine Curriculum whose characteristics include a smaller, more interactive learning environment; interdisciplinary and community collaboration; patient-centered, self-directed learning; small learning communities; continuity of care, patient safety, and comprehensive, chronic disease management; early introduction of clinical training in multiple community-based hospital and outpatient settings; and a state-of-the-art medical simulation center. 

In addition to offering the M.D. degree, FAU proposes to offer a dual M.D./biomedical sciences Ph.D. option in partnership with the Scripps Institute Kellogg School of Science and Technology, which would confer a doctorate degree.  FAU estimates that up to one fourth of its M.D. students could take advantage of this option.

FAU’s medical education program will be housed at the Charles E. Schmidt College of Biomedical Science on the Boca Raton campus.  Student and residency training will be made available throughout hospitals in Palm Beach and Broward counties. The target date for the inaugural class to begin is fall 2011, with total enrollment of the program reaching 246 students by 2014.


About Florida Atlantic University:

Florida Atlantic University opened its doors in 1964 as the fifth public university in Florida. Today, the University serves more than 28,000 undergraduate and graduate students on seven campuses and sites. Building on its rich tradition as a teaching university, with a world-class faculty, FAU hosts 10 colleges:  College of Architecture, Urban & Public Affairs, Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts & Letters, the Charles E. Schmidt College of Biomedical Science, the College of Business, the College of  Education, the College of  Engineering & Computer Science, the Harriet L. Wilkes Honors College, the Graduate College, the Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing and the Charles E. Schmidt College of Science. For more information, visit

Privacy Policy | University Regulations and Policies | Emergency Information | Get Help | Contact Us

An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution
© Copyright 2016. Florida Atlantic University.
Florida Atlantic University
 Last Modified 9/7/16