Media Relations

Press Release:


South Broward High School Wins 'Florida Manatee Bowl' at Harbor Branch at FAU

         FORT PIERCE, FL (February 28, 2008) – A team from South Broward High School was recently crowned the regional champion for a high school competition based on its knowledge of a wide range of ocean-related topics at the “Florida Manatee Bowl” at Harbor Branch Oceanographic Institute at Florida Atlantic University in Fort Pierce. The team, who beat out 17 other teams, will advance with 24 other regional champions to the 11th annual National Ocean Sciences Bowl (NOSB®) from April 25-27, in Seward, Alaska.

         This month, approximately 2,000 students from more than 300 high schools participated at 25 sites throughout the country. South Broward High School’s team consisted of Taylor DeMarino, Matias Guerrero, Alannah Irwin, Allyson Linder, and Helen Maxwell, all who were coached by teachers Sharon Thomas and Zuleyha Gokay.       The other top teams were Miami Beach Senior High School (second place), Hialeah-Miami Lakes Senior High School (third place) and Miami’s MAST Academy (fourth place).

         NOSB seeks to interest students in the ocean sciences as a college major and potential career. Through this educational forum, the NOSB strives to encourage and support the next generation of marine scientists, policy makers, teachers, explorers, researchers, technicians, environmental advocates and informed citizens.   Students around the country spend months working with volunteer coaches to get ready for competitions, which pit four-student teams against each other in rapid-fire buzzer rounds of multiple choice and short-answer questions, as well as in team challenge questions. Topics include ocean biology, chemistry, geology, physics, navigation, geography, and related history, literature and public policy.

         The NOSB is managed by the Consortium for Ocean Leadership, a new organization formed by the merger of the Consortium for Oceanographic Research and Education and the Joint Oceanographic Institutions.   Ocean Leadership is a Washington, D.C.-based nonprofit organization that represents 95 of the leading public and private ocean research and education institutions, aquaria and industry.   Ocean Leadership’s mission is to advance research, education and sound ocean policy.  

         For 11 years, since the inception of the NOSB, the Florida Manatee Bowl has been co-hosted by Harbor Branch and the University of Miami's Rosenstiel School of Marine and Atmospheric Sciences, with the event alternating each year between Fort Pierce and Miami.   M oderators and judges for the event are drawn from both institutions.

         Dr. Dennis Hanisak, Harbor Branch’s director of education and coordinator of this event, calls the Florida Manatee Bowl “an opportunity for Florida’s high school students to showcase their interest and understanding of one of our greatest resources, our oceans.”

         “I believe the Ocean Science Bowl is a challenging and fun event, not only for the students, but also for their teachers, and the scientists and volunteers who hosted, organized and volunteered at this event,” said Hanisak.

High Schools attending the 2008 Florida Manatee Bowl in Fort Pierce

Bayside High School

Eau Gallie High School

G. Holmes Braddock Senior High

Hialeah-Miami Lakes Senior High School ( 2 teams)

Lake Worth Community High School

MAST Academy (2 teams)

Miami Beach Senior High School

Miami Palmetto Senior High School (2 teams)

Palm Bay High School (2 teams)

South Broward High School (2 teams)

St. Lucie West Centennial High School (2 teams)

St. Lucie West Centennial High School

Westwood Marine & Oceanographic Academy


Privacy Policy | University Regulations and Policies | Emergency Information | Get Help | Contact Us

An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution
© Copyright 2016. Florida Atlantic University.
Florida Atlantic University
 Last Modified 8/26/12