News and Events 2017

Dr. Keene       Dr. Predrag Cudic Lab 

Partners & Seminar Series

Press Releases


In the News

JLSI Student Awards

NCAA awards

JLSI Student Awards and Achievements-2016

  • Joan Lora, a doctoral IBAN student, was an author on memory study published in Biological Psychiatry. (November 23, 2016)
  • IBAN student Keith R. Murphy is the primary author of a paper about how different foods can play roles in the immediate effects of sleep. (November 23, 2016)
  • FAU Brain Institute postdoc, Matthew Robson, Ph.D., granted Young Investigator Award (October 2016)
  • Integrative Biology and Neuroscience (IB-N) student, Daniel E. Wilson publishes his work titled, "Orientation selectivity and the functional clustering of synaptic inputs in primary visual cortex," in Nature Neuroscience.
  • Research Supplement to Promote Diversity from the National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (6/2016-5/2017): Roberto Hernandez (Greg Macleod’s laboratory).
  • Recipient, Outstanding Student of the Year (FAU Northern Campus Achievement Award April 2016): Stephanie Kelly.
  • Recipients, Lifelong Learning Society Scholarship (FAU Northern Campus Achievement Award April 2016): Monica Risley and  Dorota Tokmina-Roszyk.

JLSI Student Awards and Achievements-Previous Years

  • Charles E. Schmidt College of Science Newell Doctoral Fellowship (2015-2016): Monica Risley.
  • Recipient, The Charles E. Schmidt College of Science Graduate Fellowship for Academic Excellence (2015-2016): Stephanie Kelly.
  • Recipient, The Charles E. Schmidt College of Science 2015 Dissertation of the Year Award: Shweta Singh. 
  • Recipients, Travel Awards to Bonn International Graduate School (BIGS) Meeting in Germany (November 2015): Nanna Ásgeirsdóttir, Joan Lora and Jennifer Krill.
  • Recipient, First Place Award for Best Presentation at Bonn International Graduate School (BIGS) Meeting in Germany (November 2015): Joan Lora.
  • Recipients, Saurino Scholarship (2015-2016): Ciny John and Shweta Singh.
  • Recipient, Krinzman Scholarhip (November 2015): Karlis Justs.
  • Representatives, IB Ph.D. Program at FAU Day in Tallahassee (November 2015): Stephanie Kelly and Emir (Tyrone) Penserga.
  • Participants, Electrophysiology Course “ELECTRAIN 2015” at Georg-August-Universitat in Goettingen in May 2015 (will serve as an FAU course model): Brandon Lloyd and Monica Risley.
  • Participants, “Neurizons In Molecular Biology” Meeting at The Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry in Goettingen (May 2015): Brandon Lloyd, Monica Risley and Nanna Ásgeirsdóttir.
  • Recipients, Saurino Scholarship (April 2014): Monica Risley, Brandon Lloyd and Kent Fairchild.
  • Recipient, Outstanding Graduate Student of the Year from the College of Science (FAU Northern Campus Achievement Award April 2014): Monica Risley.
  • Recipients, Lifelong Learning Society Scholarship (FAU Northern Campus Achievement Award April 2015): Emir (Tyrone) Penserga and Priyanka Kakad.
  • Recipient, First Place Award in Interdisciplinary Category (FAU GPSA Research Day March 2015): Olena Makhnyeva.
  • Recipients, FAU 2015 Pilot GRIP (Graduate Research and Inquiry Program) Award, Emir (Tyrone) Penserga and Ye Sun.

Other Short News

Dr. Ken Dawson-ScullyDr. Ken Dawson-Scully wins "Outstanding Faculty Award" at FAU Northern Campus Achievement Award Ceremony, April 2016

“Sounds like a winner: What birdsong, the human voice and politics teach us about vocal communication systems" . The IB Retreat Keynote Lecture was presented by Drs. Rindy Anderson (Assistant Professor, Biological Sciences, FAU) and Casey Klofstad (Associate Professor, Political Science, University of Miami) on Friday, February 19, 2016 at FAU in Boca Raton.

Dr. Kailiang Jia , FAU Associate Professor, was awarded an NIH R15 grant for three years, totaling $356,678.00

Dr. Alex Keene has been hired as an Associate Professor in the Biological Sciences Department at FAU and set up his Jupiter-based lab in August 2015. Keene brings one NSF and two NIH grants to FAU. He studies the genetic basis of sleep and memory using the fruit fly and the blind Mexican cavefish. Keene has 29 peer-reviewed articles in high impact journals. He brings five graduate students and one postdoctoral fellow to FAU.

Silvana Jaramillo Coordinator, Academic Support has joined the JLSI group and will be the go-to point person for financial issues including grant budgets and contracts.

Seven students joined the IB-N joint Ph.D. Program in 2015:

Jeff van Note (M.S., Karlsruhe Institute of Technology)

Camillo Yepes (B.S., FAU)

Karlis Justs (M.S., FAU)

Wesley Bollinger (B.S., George Fox University)

Kazuma Murakami (B.S., University of Nevada at Reno)

Melissa Slocumb (B.S., University of Nevada at Reno)

Maria Yurgel (B.S., Marist College)

 Last Modified 3/13/17