Home / CLAS / Caribbean & Latin American Studies Faculty
CLAS HeaderPlaza de Mayo

Director of Caribbean and Latin American Studies
Barbara Ganson, Ph.D., Associate Professor of History
Education:  Ph.D., History, University of Texas at Austin
M.A. degree in Latin American Studies, University of Texas at Austin
Interests:  indigenous peoples in the Americas, Guarani language and culture,
Colonial Latin American History, Modern Latin American History, aviation

Contact information:
Dorothy F. Schmidt College of Arts and Letters
Florida Atlantic University
Department of History
Box 3091, 777 Glades Road
Boca Raton, FL 33431
561.297.3840
bganson@fau.edu

 

FACULTY

ANTHROPOLOGY

Clifford Brown ctbrown@fau.edu

Education:  Ph.D., Anthropology, Tulane University
M.A., Anthropology, Tulane University
Interest: Archaeology of Mesoamerica, origins of civilizations, emergence of inequality and social complexity

Michael Harris mharris@fau.edu
Education:  Ph.D., Anthropology, Southern Methodist University
Interests: Socio-Cultural Anthropology, Medical Anthropology, Cultural Ecology, Ecuador

Valentina Martínez vmartine@fau.edu
Education:  M.A., Anthropology, Southern Methodist University
Interests:  Archaeology, Lithics, Paleoindians of the New World, South America, Ecuador

 

ENGLISH

P. Raphael Dalleo rdalleo@fau.edu
Education:
Interests:  Caribbean Literature, World Literatures

Elena Machado emachado@fau.edu
Education:  Ph.D;, Englis, Stony Brook
Interests:  Caribbean Literature

 

GEOSCIENCES

Maria Fadiman mfadiman@fau.edu
Education:  Ph.D., Geography, University of Texas at Austin
M.A., Geography, Tulane University
Interests:  Ethnobotany in Latin America, World Cultures and the Environment, Rain Forests Ecosystems

 

HISTORY

Graciella Cruz-Taura cruz@fau.edu
Education:  Ph.D., History, University of Miami
Interests:  Cuban History, History of Ideas

Kristen Block kblock5@fau.edu 
Education:  Ph.D., History, Rutgers University
Interests:  Latin American and Caribbean History, Atlantic World

 

HONORS COLLEGE

Carmen Cañete-Quesada ccaneteq@fau.edu
Education:  Ph.D., Hispanic Literature, Vanderbilt University
M.A., Hispanic Literature, University of Florida
Interests: Exile, Race, and Post Coloniality in Hispanic Caribbean and Spain

Timothy Steigenga tsteigen@fau.edu 
Education:  Ph.D., Comparative Politics, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
M.A., Political Science, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Interests:  Comparative Politics, Religion and Politics in Latin America

Miguel Vázquez mvazquez@fau.edu
Education:  Ph.D., Hispanic Literature, Indiana University
M.A., Arabic Literature
M.A., Hispanic Literature

 

LANGUAGES, LINGUISTICS, AND COMPARATIVE LITERATURE

Mauricio Almonte malmont3@fau.edu

Nora Erro Peralta peralta@fau.edu
Education:  Ph.D., University of Toronto
Interest:  Latin American Literature in the Twentieth Century
Latin American Women Writers

Mary Ann Gosser Esquilín gosser@fau.edu

Michael Horswell mhorswell@fau.edu

Martha Mendoza mmendoza@fau.edu
Education:  Ph.D., Linguistics, University of California at Berkeley
Interests: Linguistic politeness, language contact and bilingualism, P'urhepecha (Mesoamerican language)

Nancy Poulson npoulson@fau.edu
Education:  Ph.D., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Interests:

 

MUSIC

Patricia Fleitas pfleitas@fau.edu
Education:  Doctor of Musical Arts in Choral Performance, University of Texas at Austin.  Master of Muscial Arts,
University of Texas at Austin
Interests:

 

POLITICAL SCIENCE

Aimee Arias akanner2@fau.edu
Education:  Ph.D., International Studies, University of Miami
Interests:  European Union, Latin American Politics, Regional Integration

 

SOCIOLOGY

  

VISUAL ARTS AND ART HISTORY

Juana Valdes  jvaldes7@fau.edu
Education:  MFA, School of Fine Arts
Interests:  Printmaking

 

Privacy Policy | University Regulations and Policies | Emergency Information | Get Help | Contact Us

An Equal Opportunity/Equal Access Institution
© Copyright 2014. Florida Atlantic University.
Florida Atlantic University
 Last Modified 11/12/13