Fees and Refunds
section of the 2011-2012 FAU University Catalog includes revisions
approved after the catalog's publish date of March 3, 2011. Revisions
appear in red.
Registration Fees (Changes below effective immediately.)
Tuition and other fees are due on or before the last day to pay (see the Academic
Calendar). A student is not considered officially registered and may not
attend classes until fees are paid or arrangements are made to pay fees. Arrangements
to pay fees include, but are not limited to, acceptance of a financial aid
award; acceptance of a tuition deferment for pending financial aid; third party
billing, including payment by the Florida Prepaid College Program; participation
in one of the University’s
payment plans (not available during the summer semesters); matriculation
or non-resident waivers; or a written agreement to pay under a Special Installment
Payment Agreement (see Registration Cancellation by the University in this
section). Florida Statutes do not allow FAU to register
any individual who has debts with the University.
Tuition and fees are charged for each credit scheduled based on the course level
and the residency status of the student. Tuition and fees are subject to change
by the Florida Board of Governors at any time. For the most current tuition
fees visit www.fau.edu/controller/student_information/tuition_breakdown.php or http://www.fau.edu/regulations/chapter8/index.php.
The tuition and fees apply to all courses, to all degree- and non-degree-seeking
students and for all semesters—fall, spring, summer term 1, summer term 2 and
summer term 3—unless specifically noted otherwise in official University publications.
To determine their fee schedule, students auditing classes should read the
last paragraph in Registration for Auditors in the Registration
and Records section of this catalog.
All degree-seeking students should read the Financial
Assistance Opportunities section of this catalog.
Students registering for summer term 3 courses during the summer terms 1 and
2 registration period must pay all fees in full (including summer term 3’s
fees) by the summer terms 1 and 2’s last day to pay fees deadline. See the Academic
A student enrolled in the same undergraduate college credit course more than
twice must pay the increased matriculation charges representing 100 percent
of the full cost of instruction. Individualized study courses, courses intended
to continue over multiple semesters and elective coursework may be excluded
from this charge.
Fees and Charges (Changes below effective immediately.)
and Supply Fee**
Photo ID Fee***
decal (fee non-refundable)****
* See Academic
Calendar for dates. An initial registration after
the end of the Drop/Add period will incur a $100 late
** Certain courses have been designated
to include material and supply fees.
*** A mandatory photo ID fee must
be paid during the first semester enrolled at FAU or for
replacement of a lost photo ID. This is a non-refundable
fee. Students must present a paid fee receipt at the photo
ID office in the Student Union, Boca Raton campus (or other
campus locations) to have the photo ID processed.
**** All students are assessed a transportation access fee at the time of registration
to be paid along with their tuition. This fee supports the University’s transportation
infrastructure and increases student access to transportation services. Upon
registration, a student will be eligible to obtain a permit online through myfau.fau.edu.
Parking and Transportation Services
is responsible for managing parking services on all FAU
campuses. All students, whether part-time, full-time, day
or evening or members of the Lifelong Learning Society,
are required to pay a transportation access fee, which
is included in the tuition at the time of registration.
Decals may be obtained online at myfau.fau.edu, under the "students" tab. For
more information, call 561-297-2771 or visit www.fau.edu/parking for
a copy of the parking rules, an FAU map or visitor information.
of Living Expenses
Click here to
see budgets used in financial
aid processing. The figures provide
a rough estimate of the basic
expenses for full-time, Florida-resident
undergraduate and graduate students
at FAU for an academic year (fall
and spring semesters).
Box (Changes below effective immediately.)
The Boca Raton, Davie, Jupiter and Treasure Coast campuses are the only campus locations that provide the convenience of a drop box. If the amount of fees due is known, students are encouraged to put checks in the drop box to avoid waiting in line. Please write the Student ID number on the check. Do not deposit cash in the drop boxes. No envelopes are required. NOTE: By depositing check payments in the drop box, you are authorizing FAU to electronically process your check. The electronic debit to your checking account may be on the same day your check payment is processed.
Registration Cancellation by the University
Unless prior payment arrangements have been made with the Controller’s Office,
failure to pay all tuition and fees by the end of the designated fee payment
deadlines will result in cancellation of
the student’s registration by the Controller’s Office (i.e., the courses selected
by the student).
Students cancelled for non-payment of fees have this
option: Reinstatement requires full payment of all tuition and fees
immediately, plus a $100 late payment and a $100 reinstatement fee. Reinstatement
after the 28th day of classes requires an appeal to be filed with the Registrar’s
Once courses are selected for the semester, no changes in course status occur
unless the student initiates the changes. To drop a course(s), the University’s
formal drop procedure must be followed by accessing the appropriate option
within MyFAU Self Service, FAU’s student information system. Failing to attend the course(s),
telling the instructor(s) of an intention to drop, failing to pay tuition and
fees for a course(s) or similar action will not change the student’s course
selection status nor will it reduce fee liability. For more information regarding
the drop procedure, refer to the Academic Policies
and Regulations section of this catalog.
Fee liability (meaning payment is due for all tuition and fees) occurs when
a fee deferment is accepted (i.e., deferrals for financial aid applicants
who are approved to receive aid), arrangements for fee payment are made or
a partial payment is made. Formally dropping a course(s) before the end of
the drop/add period relieves the student of fee liability for the course(s)
that are dropped. Formally dropping a course(s) after the drop/add period
does not change fee liability. Students must still pay for the course(s)
that they drop.
of Registration Fees (Changes below effective immediately.)
Students who drop a class or
withdraw from the University
before the end of the first week
of classes will receive a full
refund, less non-refundable fees.
Students who withdraw from the
University for purposes other
than exceptional circumstances
during the second through fourth
weeks of the current semester
will receive a 25 percent refund,
less non-refundable fees. This policy does not apply to summer term 2 or summer term 3.
3. Students who drop a class after the fourth week of classes will not receive
a refund unless the drop takes place due to exceptional circumstances, such
as illness, military conscription or death of an immediate family member.
Situations such as employment changes, relocation of home, transportation
problems, dislike for the instructor/course, etc., are not considered “exceptional
circumstances.” For more information, see Exceptional Circumstance Withdrawal
If a student drops a class after
the drop/add period, a full refund,
less any non-refundable fees,
may be provided upon approval
of the Fee Petition by the Office
of the Controller, Student Financial
Services Department, SU
Petition form should be completed
online and then printed and submitted
along with the supporting documentation
to substantiate the petition.
Circumstance Withdrawal (Medical Withdrawal)
Students withdrawing from all classes in
the current semester due to exceptional circumstances, such as illness of the
student, military conscription, becoming primary care-giver to immediate family
member or death of an immediate family member (parent, spouse, child, sibling
or grandparent), may receive a refund, less non-refundable fees, if the
request for ECW is granted. Students seeking Exceptional Circumstance Withdrawals
should contact the Associate Vice President and Dean of Students at 561-297-2656
for the appropriate paperwork or visit www.fau.edu/dean.
from the University (Changes below effective immediately.)
Students who withdraw from the University for purposes other than exceptional
circumstances during the second through fourth weeks of the current semester
will receive a 25 percent refund, less non-refundable fees. No refunds for withdrawal
other than for exceptional circumstances will be granted after the fourth week
of classes. This policy does not apply to summer term 2 or summer term 3.
of Housing Fees
The Housing Contract cannot be cancelled after the opening date for housing.
Any student who has not cancelled the Housing Contract before the opening date
of housing will be responsible for all University housing fees for the academic
A full refund of housing fees will be granted if a student is denied admission
to the University or is academically suspended and requests a cancellation
before the opening date for housing.
Each resident is encouraged to become familiar with the terms, conditions and
freshman residency requirement specified in the Housing Contract.
Dishonored Checks (Changes below effective immediately.)
Pursuant to Florida law, individuals have 15 days from receipt of “notice to
tender payment to Florida Atlantic University” to pay for the full amount of
a dishonored check, plus a service charge of $25 if the face value of the check
does not exceed $50; $30 if the face value of the check exceeds $50, but does
not exceed $300; $40 if the face value of the check exceeds $300, but does
not exceed $800; and 5 percent of the face value of the check in the amount
of $800 or greater. Electronic check payments (WebChecks) returned due to entering an invalid account number will be assessed a $25 service charge.
Unless this amount is paid in full within the specified time, the dishonored
check may be turned over to the state attorney for criminal prosecution and/or
to a collection agency.
Individuals who do not tender payment within the 15-day period are also subject
to cancellation of registration with fee liability.
Individuals who have given two or more dishonored checks will be placed on
a cash, money order or cashier’s check basis for any subsequent registrations.
payment on a check is considered
the same as a dishonored check.